A week after the Buster Posey injury, Brian Sabean and the Giants have turned themselves into the bad guys

A LEGAL play that resulted in an unfortunate injury.

** Disclaimer: I am an A’s fan, so I have no emotional connections to the Giants and therefore, this entire thing is based off my perception as an outsider looking in. This is all my opinion of this nonsense that needs to go away. Plus, it feels good to write a thought out sports blog post. Haven’t done that in a while.

Over this past week, I have heard a lot of opinions on what should be done after Scott Cousins ran through Buster Posey last week — thus knocking Posey out for the rest of the year.

I initially thought that the talks would die down as Posey got hurt on a play that was legal. It was an unfortunate injury and people had to move on. But apparently, that hasn’t been the case.

It’s still a topic being discussed on the Internet, sports radio and all over the place. Yes, a little discussion is fine. But to continue this for a week? I think it’s way too much.

When I first saw the replay of the collision between Cousins and Posey, I didn’t think anything of it. It didn’t register to me as a dirty play. If Cousins went straight toward the plate, he would have been tagged out. Seeing that Posey was making an attempt to catch the ball, the only way for Cousins to make it to the plate without getting tagged was to knock it out of Posey’s glove.

That’s what he did. He wanted to win the game for his team. It’s a baseball play. It’s been around for years. There wasn’t anything illegal about it.

Yes, Cousins did head towards Posey instead of going towards the plate, but Posey was hanging out in the vicinity of the plate and it was fair game. I saw nothing wrong with the play and I felt bad that Posey got hurt.

I thought that people would move on from this. But apparently, Posey’s agent advocated that a rule be changed to protect the catchers. Even the Giants manager Bruce Bochy, a former catcher himself, started to demand a change.

It really disturbed me that the talk for rule changes happened after Posey got hurt. Was it because he was a “superstar” in the making that now there had to be talk? There were two collisions in baseball last year that sent two catchers to the DL. Why wasn’t there talk right now?

The problem with it was that there was so much pressure to change baseball for Posey. I think that maybe that’s not really the problem. One issue I had was that Posey was not in a very good position to catch the ball and getting slammed into was a huge possibility.

There was a lot of information going back and forth within the next couple days following the injury but I believed that once Posey spoke out and said that such rule changes don’t need to happen, it would go away.

Instead, Posey said a rule change should take place.

Since he was brought up to the Giants, he had been advocating to be a catcher even though there had been suggestions that he becomes an infielder full-time. Posey was clear that he wanted to be a catcher. So when a catcher injury happens to him, he now claims that he doesn’t like the territory that comes with being one, and that a rule should be changed for it.

Right then and there, I wasn’t too happy with how all this turned out. What rule can be changed to begin with? And second of all, Posey just turned himself into a softie by claiming that a rule should be changed because something unfortunate happened to him.

Most of the reactions I have been reading is because that since it did happen to Posey, rules must be changed. But why does baseball have to make changes just for Posey? He hasn’t earned any kind of warrant for that. Nobody has. Nobody is bigger than the game.

What Posey is asking is that baserunners are forced to make split second decisions on how to score from third. But what if the catcher misses the ball and is in the basepath? Or what if the throw from the outfielder is off line? Is the baserunner still at fault?

That’s a lot of debate and it surely was the topic of discussion for the following days. I got a little annoyed by it since if it was an issue, it should have been brought up years ago — not because Posey got hurt.

My real issue came this afternoon when I was looking through Twitter.

Scott Cousins has tried to reach out to Posey since injury, feeling guilty that the unfortunate injury occurred. Even though he did nothing illegal, he still felt bad about it.

Then, today, San Francisco Giants general manager Brian Sabean decides to make this bold proclamation against Cousins.

And here are some follow-up reactions to that quote:

https://twitter.com/bleachers146/status/76431534869053440

I decided to read more into that interview right here and he continues to say more about seeing Cousins fail. And after reading all that, I have lost whatever respect I had for what I thought was a classy organization.

It’s one thing to stand up for your own player, but it’s a totally different thing when it’s said like this.

Sabean is wishing bad luck, failure and career suffering to Cousins for what he did. Is that the kind of attitude that you want to publicly air out? No. Sabean is like a bully with his very evil-intent quotes.

Even though Cousins isn’t a superstar, he has dreams of being a big league star. For another man to wish that his dreams get shattered — that’s just evil in my opinion. Very childish too.

I can understand that Sabean is unhappy that Posey got hurt. But Sabean has to understand that Posey got hurt on a play that was legal. It’s an unfortunate incident and he has to accept what happened. Publicly wishing another man to continuously suffer and fail out of frustration is plain stupid. It doesn’t solve anything, rather just add fuel to his anger issues.

And it doesn’t help that Cousins has also been receiving death threats since the accident and the Giants have denied him any opportunity to apologize to Posey.

The image I get of Sabean is that he feels that he’s simply above everyone else. That any “harm” that happens to his team, he is out for vengeance. I get the feeling that he will instruct the Giants players to bean Cousins or do some kind of retribution act. (Even though they had a chance to do it the day after Posey got hurt, they didn’t).

Instead of moving on, the Giants have actually whined like a baby that didn’t get their favorite toy at the dinner table. Their “perfect” life was altered a little bit and now they don’t know how to react but complain.

With the general manager, a strong face of the organization, goes out and says something like that, it just puts another black eye on the organization. An organization that I believed was a classy, respected organization has shown me their true colors.

I’m not saying that everybody in the organization is bad. But after this incident, the key people that had a chance to say something and do something right did all the wrong things. The whining and complaining and the the public call out for Scott Cousin’s baseball career to go down the drain is not what baseball is about.

In my opinion, no rule changes are needed. Posey shouldn’t have called for one either. And Sabean should not have wished bad luck to Cousins. The Giants had the chance to do right, but they went the wrong route.

And if  Cousins gets plunked, or maybe a Marlins superstar gets attacked the next time these two teams play, whatever respect I had for the organization will be lost. They’ve already done too much. It’s time to move on.

** For more on Sabean’s hypocrisy, check this out.

7 Comments

Filed under Sports

7 responses to “A week after the Buster Posey injury, Brian Sabean and the Giants have turned themselves into the bad guys

  1. Ryan Leong

    This has everything to do with him being the future of the franchise. If it happened to Eli Whiteside, none of this talk would be the case…

  2. qudjy1

    Well done… very well said.

  3. A's Suck

    Typical A’s fan response. Your team is the Giants bay Area rival give me a break no emotional connections. LOL

    • If this nonsense happened to any other team and their GM did this stupid stuff, I’d react the same way.
      Just because I’m an A’s fan, why should I care about the Giants? I don’t.

      • A's Suck

        It’s the fact, that you say you have no emotional connections son. Ofcourse you have them, your team is our Bay Area rival ofcourse you have emotional connections, just like we do. Sure, Sabean may be wrong, and this is blown way out, but don’t say you have no emotional connections and then put my boys on blast. I dont think so. You should have left the A’s part out, and then maybe I would taken you serious

      • I blog about the A’s all the time so people know I am an A’s fan. And yes, I understand the rivalry between the two teams but I only care about the Giants when they face the A’s. When the Giants are playing some other teams, like they did against the Marlins, I don’t care. It doesn’t concern me. Too bad you can’t get that through your head. Just because I am an A’s fan, doesn’t mean I must care about the Giants. Besides, every point I made in this post still holds true regardless of what team I root for.

Leave a Reply

