Prince: “Let’s run a play — Computer Blue!”

During this past week at work I have been partially tired. That could probably be traced to my lack of sleep and lack of motivation. Well, that’s partially my fault. Anyway, to get myself into a better mood, my iPod has been saving me and keeping me awake.

The only music I end up listening to all week is Prince. To be more specific, the album Purple Rain is my choice. Not only is that one of the best movies I have ever seen, but the soundtrack/album is one of the finest things that I have ever heard. It actually is an album that opened up my eyes and allowed me to be a huge Prince fan. So glad I found a copy that I could check out three years ago in a Chinatown library.

Anyway, these two songs are the ones I listen to because in the album, they are consecutive tracks (and in the movie too, in consecutive scenes) and the story it tells is really good. Of course, you would have to have seen the movie to make sense of it. But still, the guitar work, the intensity of the song and the scenes just make it so great.

The first track is “Computer Blue” (which some of you can remember was referenced in a Dave Chappelle sketch on his show) and the guitar work is so intense. Probably one of the most underrated songs on the album. The other song, “Darling Nikki” (which has been covered by the Foo Fighters, a move that Prince hates) is just Prince being all caught up with his emotions with Appelonia in the movie. The ending part, where he’s thrusting on the speakers… just so amazing.

Yeah, that’s what’s been in my ears all week. Some Prince to get me through the week. Here are the songs. Enjoy!

Leave a comment

Filed under Music, YouTube

Leave a Reply

