People need to chill out about the “Asians in the Library” video that’s making waves on the Internet

So this is what everybody and their mamas are talking about on my Facebook feed. There’s been a lot of negative feedback and people now are probably finding ways to get this girl.

***And thanks to some Internet searching, everyone knows her name, her e-mail address, where she goes to school and what she studies.

When this video was first posted on Facebook, I didn’t even bother to watch it. I didn’t know what it was, but it looked dumb. Then eventually more people started to talk about it and I finally watched it. And I think my reaction to this is a WHOLE LOT different than most people’s reactions.

At least from what I’ve seen, a lot of people were upset at the girl for being racist and ignorant. Well, yes, she is. But aren’t we all racist and ignorant too? We generalize things upon first reaction many times in our lives. We’re not perfect in our thoughts.

I think her biggest mistake was making a video on it. Instead of keeping her thoughts to herself, she allowed herself to become a target of the social media world. Now she’s probably a pariah on the UCLA campus.

There have been a lot of response videos by other people and whatnot and I don’t really care for them. Because to me, the video didn’t really offend me that much.

The first thing she mentioned was the Asian students having their families come to their apartment complexes during the weekends and help them with laundry, groceries, etc. I didn’t think much about this comment because it’s actually true. I’ve seen a lot of that when I went to SJSU and my parents have brought me food over the weekend too. I wasn’t offended by that comment — but rather a little upset at how she said it.

The thing that made people upset was the part where she mentioned people talking on cell phones in the library. First of all, not only Asians, but all kinds of people do that. I’ve seen foreign students talk on their cells. I’ve seen foreign students complain about people talking on their cell. I’ve seen regular white students do it too. It’s not just an Asian thing.

I think the only thing that pissed me off was her “Ching-chong, ling-long, ting-tong” thing. I never liked it when people mock my language. In fact, any kind of insulting imitation of how someone speaks is one of my biggest pet peeves. My dad does that to me too — where he repeats something I say in an insulting voice when he disagrees with me. (My dad is not that nice to me). That’s something I am not cool with.

I am not too sure where she was going with the phonebook of Japanese relatives, but being ignorant about the situation there isn’t just a one-time thing. There are apparently a lot of ignorant people out there.

Should I have had the same reaction as most people did to this video? I’m not sure. She did what a lot of people do: have ignorant, stereotypical thoughts in an attempt to rationalize a time of frustration and confusion.

I’m not saying that it’s OK, but I don’t think people should be shocked that these things pop into people’s minds. It becomes human nature sometimes to come up with irrational explanations for things we don’t understand.

So instead of getting all worked up by this one video, we all need to take a step back and realize that we ourselves think dumb things too. It’s impossible to have a perfect, clean mind. But at least we’re smart enough to not make our bad thoughts public like she did.

She did issue an apology via the UCLA school paper:

“Clearly the original video posted by me was inappropriate,” she said in the statement. “I cannot explain what possessed me to approach the subject as I did, and if I could undo it, I would. I’d like to offer my apology to the entire UCLA campus. For those who cannot find it within them to accept my apology, I understand.”

I just hope that we don’t truly believe the negative thoughts that come into our minds. And more importantly, I hope that we don’t do anything foolish because of it. Let’s hope that this girl has learned her lesson and will think twice about expressing her first thoughts in a public manner.

We can try to achieve a perfect mindset, but it will never happen. Every now and then we’ll think stupid things. We have to continue to try to learn when we don’t understand something. Little by little, we will be able to avoid thinking racist and ignorant thoughts in a time of confusion and frustration.

That’s my reaction to this video. What’s yours?

Leave a comment

Filed under Facebook, YouTube

Leave a Reply

