Could God microwave a burrito so hot that not even He could eat it?

He's so dumb, yet he thinks what we think a lot of the time.

That is one of the best lines from Homer Simpson in an old episode of “The Simpsons” and it just popped into my head. It got me thinking about how we as followers of Christ also from time to time think about God and what He can and can’t do.

We don’t directly think it, but every now and then we have thoughts about God’s powers. Is he really that all-powerful? Will he answer my prayers? Can he get me out of trouble during these tough times?

All the things that are common knowledge about God we still sometimes wonder.

Especially now with so much happening in the world (natural disasters, government screw ups, crime rate going up, economy on thin ice) we are in a desperate time in our lives. We need God more than ever. There is way too much shit going around that we need to get our priorities in place. And most importantly, we need God.

This past week I have been doing a lot of evaluating of my life and seeing that I am pretty much in a whole lot of everything. There is a lot of uncertainty about my future and more importantly, there is a lot of pressure that I am putting on myself to find the answers. It’s not a very happy time for me right now.

But throughout these recent weeks, I continuously think about this very popular Bible passage that still helps keep me sane.

2 Consider it pure joy, my brothers and sisters,[a]whenever you face trials of many kinds, 3 because you know that the testing of your faith produces perseverance. 4 Let perseverance finish its work so that you may be mature and complete, not lacking anything.5 If any of you lacks wisdom, you should ask God, who gives generously to all without finding fault, and it will be given to you. 6 But when you ask, you must believe and not doubt, because the one who doubts is like a wave of the sea, blown and tossed by the wind. 7 That person should not expect to receive anything from the Lord. 8 Such a person is double-minded and unstable in all they do.

9 Believers in humble circumstances ought to take pride in their high position. 10 But the rich should take pride in their humiliation—since they will pass away like a wild flower. 11 For the sun rises with scorching heat and withers the plant; its blossom falls and its beauty is destroyed. In the same way, the rich will fade away even while they go about their business.

12 Blessed is the one who perseveres under trial because, having stood the test, that person will receive the crown of life that the Lord has promised to those who love him.

13 When tempted, no one should say, “God is tempting me.” For God cannot be tempted by evil, nor does he tempt anyone; 14 but each person is tempted when they are dragged away by their own evil desire and enticed. 15Then, after desire has conceived, it gives birth to sin; and sin, when it is full-grown, gives birth to death.

16 Don’t be deceived, my dear brothers and sisters. 17Every good and perfect gift is from above, coming down from the Father of the heavenly lights, who does not change like shifting shadows. 18 He chose to give us birth through the word of truth, that we might be a kind of firstfruits of all he created.

James 1:2-18 (NIV)

This verse highlights two things that I think we as believers need to continue to have in ourselves every time we go through struggles.

Tough times require us to rely on God. When we can’t do it on our own, we know that God will take care of the rest. Trials are a part of life and we need to view God as our companion. When we rely on Him, we get stronger. God’s not the bad guy.

That’s part of the second thing that I take from this. God is good all the time and even though bad things happen, God remains good. We remember that God is in control. Through the good and bad, God remains in control.

When we seek God and we put our troubles in His hand, He’ll take care of us.

So as I continue to go on through my life figuring out things, trying to get through the rough times, I remember that God is here for me. I just have to continue to believe it.

I don’t like being stressed and worried. But I shouldn’t complain. All it is doing is helping me grow closer in Him. And that’s a beautiful thing because I know the end result will be wonderful.

So it brings me back to that question: Could God microwave a burrito so hot that not even He could eat it?

Well, I think I rambled off a little bit and my post didn’t exactly touch up on it. But I think that when we are at our weakest, God is at His strongest. That’s how all-powerful God is to me.

So to partially answer that question: Sure He can. He can microwave the ultimate hot burrito and still be able to eat it. But then again, He’s God, so He doesn’t need a microwave. He’s just that awesome.

**This post probably didn’t make a lot of sense and I probably went off topic all over the place. But I just felt that I just had to write this down as it was swirling around in my head. Feel free to take what you want from this post and remember that God’s got your back no matter what.

Leave a comment

Filed under Faith

Leave a Reply

