I just sold my custom painted Hideki Matsui bobblehead for some good money

Sold for $100.

When I first bought this bobblehead, I had the notion to custom paint it and sell it. I bought two of them so I could sell one and keep one for myself. I had always been curious as to how much it would go for if I sold a custom painted bobblehead that I knew was the only one out there in the open market.

Plus, with encouragement from friends, I had a good feeling about how my painting skills have come around recently. Looking at past custom jobs from other sellers, I set the bid at $99.99 and it sold!

But with that, I will stop selling bobbleheads. One of the things that I had always worried about is that once I started making money off a hobby I love, it not longer becomes a hobby. It becomes a job and I don’t want to make it a job. Besides, there are legalities in selling anything with the likeness and image of a player or a company logo without their consent.

So with that in mind, I think this will be the only time I will ever custom paint a bobblehead and sell it on the open market. This is a hobby I care deeply about and I don’t want to lose interest in it when money is involved. That’s not why I wanted to paint to begin with.

But still, $100 is a pretty sweet profit. I only bought these bobbleheads at $25 each, so factoring the effort I put in, it’s still more than double what I paid for. And what’s interesting is that the winning bidder works for the airport or something like that. Maybe you’ll see this at SFO. Keep your eyes out for it!

Leave a comment

Filed under eBay, Random, Sports

Leave a Reply

