I am not celebrating the death of Osama bin Laden

Since the news broke last night, I have been conflicted as to how I feel about Osama bin Laden’s death.

On one hand, I am glad that the terrorist threat that is bin Laden has been stopped. He has caused a lot of pain to the world and it is good that it has come to an end.

But can I celebrate someone’s death? As much as I don’t like someone, I would never wish death upon them. I don’t see myself dancing in the streets chanting “U-S-A!” and feeling that this was a victory. I see this as a great step forward in attaining world peace, but it comes at the expense of more death.

I am happy for not only America, but for the world that the leader of a terrorist group is no longer in action.

But I think this is what is going through me right now:

‘As surely as I live, declares the Sovereign LORD, I take no pleasure in the death of the wicked, but rather that they turn from their ways and live. Turn! Turn from your evil ways! Why will you die, people of Israel?’
— Ezekiel 33:11 (NIV)

It’s a common theme in the Bible that God wants people to repent and live life the right way than just to have them dead without righting their wrongs.

There isn’t a celebration that bin Laden is dead for me. A celebration that his evil schemes, at least for the moment, have been stopped. But to celebrate the death of people, I don’t think I can ever do that.

At least, that’s now how I’ve been reacting to this. You can say I am wrong in what I am feeling and that I should be celebrating, but I just don’t feel that way.

1 Comment

Filed under Faith, Random

One response to “I am not celebrating the death of Osama bin Laden

  1. Pingback: I have no problem with some of the tweets Rashard Mendenhall wrote about Osama bin Laden | Write a blog on a log, Sam I am

Leave a Reply

