I have no problem with some of the tweets Rashard Mendenhall wrote about Osama bin Laden

I’ll make this post very short and to the point. If you don’t know what I am talking about, click this story.

After the wake of Osama bin Laden’s death, there was a string of happiness, celebration and American pride.

Pittsburgh Steelers running back Rashard Mendenhall tweeted his thoughts on the people’s reactions toward the death of bin Laden.

Now if you read the link I posted earlier about him thinking 9/11 was an inside job, that’s a whole different animal to take.

But I want to address his thoughts on celebrating death. I blogged earlier about it and I agree with Mendenhall about it.

Death of human beings is not to be celebrated. I don’t care who it is, celebrating someone’s death is not something that I think we should do.

When al-Qaeda attacked the USA and killed thousands of people, they celebrated because they believed what they did was right. The exact same thing happened when I saw people celebrating. The U.S. government killed people and we are celebrating it. I just don’t understand.

Let me be clear and say that I don’t condone what bin Laden did. I don’t like hatred and evil at all. But isn’t celebrating the death of someone evil? The troops found bin Laden and had an intent to kill him. That is defined as murder. Are we celebrating the murder of someone?

To put it simply, justice isn’t about getting revenge. As Mahatma Gandhi once said: “An eye for an eye makes the whole world blind.”

You don’t punish a murderer by killing the people he loves. You don’t punish a rapist by raping him. You don’t punish crimes with the same crimes. There is no celebration in it. All it is doing is causing more true pain.

At least for Mendenhall, he knew that as an athlete, he is on a bigger stage and he was not afraid to speak his mind. He might not be liked for it, but he is doing exactly what the country says he can do: have freedom of speech.

Yes, it may seem insensitive (especially with the conspiracy theory) to the people who have served our country. But at the same time, are we really celebrating the murder of a human beings?

To me, no matter what a person does in his or her life, that doesn’t devalue them as a human being over the next person.

I too did not celebrate the murder of Osama bin Laden. I am glad that his acts of terror have been put to rest and that the world is a safer place because of it. But to be jumping in the streets to celebrate this achievement through murder? I am not on that boat.

I love this country and I love the freedoms I have living in it. But I love the human race and the entire world a lot more. That’s the bigger picture.

EDIT: Mendenhall has apologized and explained his tweets.

3 Comments

Filed under Random, Twitter

3 responses to “I have no problem with some of the tweets Rashard Mendenhall wrote about Osama bin Laden

  1. Ms. New York

    I think that this was an excellent article. We really should not punish someone for having a heart. I am not a very religious person but I do know that if Jesus Christ himself came back for the supposed second coming that he would be persecuted for his thoughts and ideas. We have become a very violent society and we have to try our best to become more humane. And let us not forget the Michael Moore Documentary 9/11 Farenheit, I remember that when this documentary was released all Americans started to think about who was really behind 9/11 and lots of people started to doubt that it was solely the responsability of Osama Bin Laden. Please let us not put down our guard, there are still many responsible for 9/11 who are still out there. Read between the lines.

  2. Pingback: Rashard Mendenhall’s reason for retiring furthers his awesomeness | Write a blog on a log, Sam I am

  3. Pingback: Dzhokhar Tsarnaev getting the death penalty brings me sadness | Write a blog on a log, Sam I am

Leave a Reply

