Recalculating with my GPS (God Positioning System)

Maps aren't the col thing anymore.

Doing some reading and I came by this little bit from ODB:

On a road trip with a friend, we used his GPS navigation device to guide us as we drove each day. After entering our destination on the screen, a voice told us which road to follow, as well as when and where to make each turn. When we left the route, whether accidentally or deliberately, the voice would say, “Recalculating.” Then it would tell us how to get back on the right road.

Second Timothy 3:16 describes the Bible as a spiritual navigation system for our journey through life. “All Scripture is given by inspiration of God, and is profitable for doctrine, for reproof, for correction, for instruction in righteousness.” Doctrine tells us which road to travel; reproof tells us when we are off the road; correctiontells us how to get back on; instruction in righteousness tells us how to stay on God’s road.

The mistakes and choices that detour us from the Lord are not to be taken lightly. But failure is seldom fatal and few decisions are final. The moment we veer off on our own, the Holy Spirit is “recalculating” and urging us to return to the Father’s way.

If we’ve drifted off course, there’s no better time than right now to heed God’s voice and return to His road.

I am terrible with directions and most times I need a GPS to help me find my way to and from places. Even if I am a little lost, I feel more comfortable with my GPS helping me find my way back instead of using road maps or asking for help.

It’s one of those things that I rely on a lot. Now, getting to places I am familiar with isn’t too hard actually. That I can handle. But when it comes to taking detours or going to places I know from different directions, the GPS is such a huge help.

In a way, this little piece makes a lot of sense. The security of having a GPS helps me out a lot. Instead of writing down directions, I can just plug in the address and go. And having that reliability on God is like the same thing.

The problem is that even though sometimes we feel that we can find a better and quicker route to the destination, the GPS ends up knowing the quickest way. Of course, the GPS isn’t 100% accurate in terms of reliability, but I rather have it than trying to go on my own.

It’s a guide that I like to have. And to a point, I am glad it recalculates when I am off track. It’s very encouraging to know that I can always come back to where I need to go. It’s a good comparison to God and what God can do for us.

He pushes us in the right direction even when we’re off course. It’s up to us if we want to listen. But we will eventually realize that following the GPS is the best way to get to the destination.

Rely on your faith and as the God Positioning System. God will keep you on track if you follow Him. Even if you take a detour, He’ll guide you right back. God’s reliable like that.

Leave a comment

Filed under Faith

Leave a Reply

