My last two days covering the 49ers at SJSU

Vernon Davis (left) has always been a cool cat to me. Michael Crabtree (right) is starting to grow on me.

For the last two days, I have been at Spartan Stadium at SJSU watching the 49ers practice. Due to the lockout, the players are forced to practice outside of the 49ers team facility. Spartan Stadium was the next closest big football field, so it was cool to be back at my alma mater.

I like covering 49ers practices. It’s much more exciting than covering the games. Here, the players are more relaxed, more talkative and a lot more friendly. Here we get a chance to know the players more and get to see them outside of a pressure situation.

I won’t go into specifics on which players are doing what, but overall, I’ve gotten a better impression on some of them. The ones I already like continue to be class acts. Others are starting to become leaders and the ones that I didn’t know so well, I got to see a little bit more of.

For these two days, I was just there, watching them practice for a bit, then having to wait for them to finish before getting to talk to them again. I just showed up at 10AM, see which players are here, watch them hit the field, then talk to them after their practice.

It’s not thrilling, not it’s anything really worth reporting. But with the lockout and all, it’s still a chance for me to get my football fix in and do something I love.

I do hope the lockout ends soon. But it’s because of the lockout, I can enjoy the little moments like these.

Leave a comment

Filed under Sports, Work

Leave a Reply

