My birthday is coming up and it’s kind of meh to me

So my birthday is this Friday and this is how I feel about it.

OK, well, not to that extent, but somewhat a little close. I don’t care about birthdays and I think after I turned 10, the entire concept was lost on me. Since my birthday is in July, I was never around friends during the summer. I didn’t have opportunities to celebrate and after a while, I just never threw gatherings or anything. I kinda didn’t want the attention.

I feel that a birthday should be a celebration of the parents and what they did to make sure you were alive. Besides, do we need to really make a big deal of birthdays? It’s just another day on the calendar.

But this does symbolize my 25th year on this planet. And if there needs to be any kind of celebration, I am just thankful. I’m thankful that despite all the garbage that’s going on in my life, God has taken care of me. And after all the tough things that I am trying to figure out, I got good people in my family that support me. I got friends that take care of me.

So yeah, it’s a good time to reflect on the good things, but it’s not something that should be done once a year. Every day it’s time to celebrate. Not all the attention whore-ing things other people do for their birthday. But a celebration of the good things in life. I don’t want gifts, I don’t want attention. Just thank God for another day in the calendar and that my life is good.

Leave a comment

Filed under Observation, YouTube

Leave a Reply

