The 100 Twitter rules to live by and my response to the list

Twitter has grown out of control and it now almost seems like a social must.

On June 17, 2009, I joined Twitter. I signed up for two accounts. One for my 49ers writing (@SLam49ers) and one for my personal use (@phutmasterflex). I ignored my personal one and stuck with my work Twitter to engage my readers and give myself a bigger exposure in my writing.

Since signing up that day, I have amassed 743 followers and have been linked, retweeted and other things for my work as a 49ers writer. I didn’t like Twitter and I thought I’d only use it for work only.

About a year ago, I caved in and decided to use my personal account to follow and tweet things that I couldn’t do with my work handle. After seeing both sides of it, I came up with a list of the pros and cons of Twitter.

Recently, CNBC’s Sports Business Reporter Darren Rovell compiled a list of things to know about Twitter and some rules to live by.

Here’s the link to the article.

Now since I am on Twitter a lot, I am starting to notice trends and I also feel that I need to present my Twitter in a way that’s beneficial in as many ways possible. Here are some points made in the list that really stood out to me. (My responses in parentheses).

4. Please don’t link your Foursquare and Twitter accounts. Your Twitter followers signed up for your Twitter content, not the fact that you just became the mayor of Starbucks. (I don’t Foursquare and I don’t care about where you are. I agree with this.)

21. If you’re RTing (retweeting) someone with comment, it’s OK to shorten up their original tweet in order to keep it under 140. Just don’t alter the original person’s intended message. (Common sense.)

37. Always put your comment before the RT. Commenting after the original tweet makes it difficult to distinguish your comment from the original. (I’ve been confused a few times reading tweets that respond after the RT.)

46. Good follow partaking in #AnnoyingHashtag? Some Twitter apps have a temporary “Hide” or “Mute” feature. (#Hashtag overusage is stupid.)

54. Avoid using underscores and long, jumbled number sequences in your Twitter handle. People should be able to recite your handle from memory. (Notice in all my usernames/handles on the Internet, not one uses any numbers. Numbers are just not creative.)

61. If you’re a journalist, take it easy on the pre-promotion. Reading that you are going to be on in Grand Rapids is annoying. Now if you say something good after you’re done in Grand Rapids, tweet it out. (I’m a victim of this. I pre-promote myself. But I only use that to give my voice out. I suppose if I get bigger, I’ll stop it.)

66. Go easy on the Instagrams. Yes, your iPhone takes pretty good pics and there’s an app to age them. It doesn’t make you a professional photographer. (I don’t use Instagram either. It’s clutter.)

69. Unless replying to a specific Tweet, don’t start your entry with an @mention because only those who follow that person / brand will see it (unless that is your intention). (People don’t know this and it should be one of the very first things they have to learn when getting on Twitter.)

89. Don’t overdo it with the #hashtags. A few key words is fine, but the run-on sentence hash tag has been done. (Yes. A lot of people don’t know how to use #hashtags and it is just clutter.)

100. Spend time with people you know in real life because who are you going to talk to when Twitter gets over capacity? (Yes.)

It’s a pretty cool list and most of it I agree with. Some I don’t but this isn’t a Twitter bible, so I can take in what I want. But it’s good to see some trends and different perspectives mentioned in this list.

What do you guys think of this list? Agree with some stuff? Disagree?

1 Comment

Filed under Twitter

One response to “The 100 Twitter rules to live by and my response to the list

  1. #younolikemyridiculouslylonghashtags hahahaa. points for annoying, unnecessary, and improper use of #hashtags

Leave a Reply

