San Jose, I’m coming back for ya!

I could never leave San Jose.

Yeah, you think I couldn’t stay away couldn’t ya? I’m coming back to San Jose.

This was a move that I never thought would happen. And quite frankly, I didn’t want it to happen. But with the situation as it is right now, the best thing for me to do is to come back… at least for several months.

During this past summer, I had been looking for a more full-time job. I wanted something that was stable with good pay and benefits (who doesn’t want that?) And with the NFL lockout then in place, I was ready to quit writing my stuff about the 49ers and start a new chapter.

I had some leads to potential gigs. I had a chance to move to LA to work for the NFL (didn’t happen) and another chance to at least write more about the 49ers on a bigger platform.

But neither of those worked out. I was ready to quit in April, but I had no other choice but to hold on. Now the NFL is back and I had to start writing again. Since the desire for football was at an all-time high, I was getting paid more. I was getting more recognition on Twitter. I started to be on more radio shows and even made an appearance on TV.

That all led to my decision that I had to continue my 49ers writing job… at least for the end of the season. The team facilities are in Santa Clara and I knew I had to find a place to live so I can be at the facility every day. With slightly better pay right now, it was the only option for me.

So I’m coming back to San Jose just for the NFL season. Maybe a new job opens up then. But right now, I’ve kind of established myself as a writer and I can’t back out. I’m growing into a bigger role and for now, I’ll take it.

There’s another part-time gig that I could do alongside with my 49ers work. If I get that, I would get paid more money and I would be set pretty good for the rest of the year. Let’s hope that works out.

But I think the biggest blessing for me moving back down to San Jose is that I still got loads of friends and supporters down here. I have buddies from SJSU, church and other places that are still around. It will be good to be out on my own and be able to reconnect with them.

It’s crazy to think that only several months ago, I was miserable. But right now, life’s good. I don’t know what’s next, but I’m running with it. I’m packing my stuff right now and some time tonight, I will officially be a resident of the 408 once again.

Leave a comment

Filed under Work

Leave a Reply

