Game’s new album ‘The R.E.D. Album’ is sloppy, uninspired (Yes, I am reviewing a rap album)

Could have been better.

I don’t think I have ever written an album review and this won’t be a full one, but it’ll be close to one. I have always been a fan of The Game (now known as Game) since he debuted when I was a freshman in college.

He brought a smooth West Coast flavor and his following two albums were solid. Last week, I was in Target and saw his new CD for sale. I didn’t even realize that he had this new album out, but I got it anyway. I later would learn that he intentionally delayed the release of this album to coincide with the releases of Jay-Z/Kanye West’s new album and the release of Lil Wayne’s new album.

This new CD from Game, however, isn’t as good as I thought it would be. He initially started working on his in 2009 but because of lame issues with Aftermath, Geffen, Interscope, it got delayed. He added more tracks onto it earlier this year and throughout the album, you can clearly sense a bi-polar feel to it. Some of the songs are hard, while others were too emotional.

What sucks even more is that Dr. Dre is in this album but all he does is talk during intros and skits. No beats from Dre and worst of all, when Dre spoke, it didn’t even sound like him. I suppose these are baby steps for Game and Dre to get back together.

The beats in the album aren’t catchy and there are only a few tracks that I can really bump to. There isn’t a smooth flow throughout the album as the beats sound somewhat similar and the theme just gets convoluted. I listened to this album straight through a few times and it just doesn’t feel like it was given much thought.

I must say though, he does have a good collection of artists featured in the album (Snoop, Rick Ross, Big Boi, E-40, Chris Brown…) but it still didn’t really give the album a strong presence.

And what I really enjoy from Game is the West Coast feel that he always brought. I don’t really sense it in this album. I’m still a fan, but I just feel that Game had too much on his mind to really put together another solid effort.

I give this album ★★☆☆☆ (2/5 stars).

** Other music reviews give it a higher rating, but I just don’t feel that.

 

*** I just listened through it one more time on my way back home and I’ve actually softened up to it a little. It’s an album that requires a few more listen throughs to really get a good grasp of it. It’s still not a great album, but I can listen through it.

Leave a comment

Filed under Music

Leave a Reply

