Did I just piss off the guy who inspired me to become a sports writer?

My hero is angry at me.

That’s Rick Reilly. He used to write for Sports Illustrated but now writes for ESPN. When he worked for SI, he inspired me to become a writer. He has been criticized by many, but I still feel that without him, I would never have really cared about sports writing.

Earlier this evening, I saw a tweet he had on Twitter:

@ReillyRick: Where were u, 20 years ago, 11/7/91, when Magic announced he had HIV? I was parked at the U.S. Capitol building in DC, crying. #DayHoopsDied

In which I replied:

@SLam49ers: Kindergarten class. RT @ReillyRick: Where were u, 20 years ago, 11/7/91, when Magic announced he had HIV?

I didn’t think much of my answer because quite frankly, it was the truth. I was only a 5-year-old at the time. I just tweeted the truth. But then I got a direct message from Reilly stating this:

@ReillyRick: u r cruel.

I was taken by surprise. I can kind of tell why he would think I was being mean, but I wasn’t. I answered truthfully to it. I couldn’t answer any other way.

I tried to respond back to him:

@SLam49ers: @ReillyRick Wasn’t my intent. I’m a big basketball fan. It just mean that I was way too young to appreciate Magic play ball.

Magic Johnson is one of my favorite players of all time. I enjoy watching his clips. There would be no way ever I would do something to be mean about it. But I can tell how my response might be “cruel” but how can the truth be cruel?

I simply was too young to know anything about it. All my followers know I love basketball, so they would know it. But now I have pissed off the guy whom I look up to. This sucks.

Did I do something wrong? I couldn’t answer any other way. Was I too young to answer the question?

1 Comment

Filed under Sports, Twitter

One response to “Did I just piss off the guy who inspired me to become a sports writer?

  1. Pingback: 49ers-Steelers Monday Night Football game in which I meet Steve Young after some darkness | Write a blog on a log, Sam I am

Leave a Reply

