My thoughts on Tim Tebow openly praising Jesus Christ and other things

I had been asked by a friend on what my thoughts on Tim Tebow are (and to blog about it). I take this as two different questions because Tim Tebow is not just one-trick pony. As you know, Tebow has been praised/criticized for being an unconventional quarterback. Also, Tebow is very open about his faith and that has also drawn a lot of positivity/negativity his direction.

Getting a blog post on this had been delayed for some time because I had been busy and also, I hadn’t fully established my thoughts on him. But this morning, I watched his interview on ESPN and it triggered me to react. So here are my thoughts on Tebow.

I’ll break down my thoughts on two parts: Tebow the quarterback and Tebow the Christian.

Once again, here’s the interview that sparked my blog idea.

Tebow the athlete

Tebow has won at every level he’s played organized football. Most notably at the University of Florida, he won the Heisman Trophy (basically college football’s MVP) and won two National Titles. What people felt was that the offense was not conventional, and that he ran the ball so much, it won’t translate to the NFL.

He’s big for a quarterback and so far this year, his passing has been subpar and he’s been running the ball more than most quarterbacks do. I continually call him a fullback because he runs so much.

But he’s won four of the team’s last five games in numerous fashions. His team has changed the offense to fit his style. I don’t think it will last in the long run, but it’s working so far now.

He’s always been a winner and he’s continuing it in the NFL. That I cannot fault him. Winning is winning, no matter how it’s achieved. But he does it in a very unconventional, non “sexy” way. But it’s not my football team, so I don’t care too much about it.

Tebow the Christian

I'm totally OK with Tebowing praying.

This is the part that really gets people irritated. Tebow has been very, very open about his faith since he came onto the scene at Florida.

His parents are missionaries and when Tebow is not playing football, he goes to the Philippines to help build houses for kids.

As a humanitarian, he’s awesome. He’s down to earth and he loves life. Even when people make fun of him for praying so much, he takes with with a smile.

I think what pisses people off is that when he talks publicly before or after games, every other sentence seems to revolve around his faith.

He’s either praising Jesus, talking about how blessed he is or even talking about his charity work when asked a football question. It can get annoying.

Athletes in the past have praised Jesus, but normally it’s after games when the team wins. Tebow praises Jesus anytime, anywhere. It’s gotten to the point where former Broncos quarterback Jake Plummer openly said that he doesn’t like Tebow for being so open about Jesus in such a away.

This morning during an interview on ESPN, Tebow explained why he does it so much:

“If you’re married, and you have a wife, and you really love your wife, is it good enough to only say to your wife ‘I love her’ the day you get married? Or should you tell her every single day when you wake up and every opportunity? And that’s how I feel about my relationship with Jesus Christ is that it is the most important thing in my life. So any time I get an opportunity to tell Him that I love Him or given an opportunity to shout Him out on national TV, I’m gonna take that opportunity. And so I look at it as a relationship that I have with Him that I want to give Him the honor and glory anytime I have the opportunity. And then right after I give Him the honor and glory, I always try to give my teammates the honor and glory. And that’s how it works because Christ comes first in my life, and then my family, and then my teammates. I respect Jake’s opinion, and I really appreciate his compliment of calling me a winner. But I feel like anytime I get the opportunity to give the Lord some praise, He is due for it.”

That is some deep stuff (which isn’t new info — it’s in the Bible). And for me, a believer also, that’s something that is so real and so true. And it’s not a front by Tebow, because he is truly sincere about his faith.

But I guess with this politically correct, censored America, it’s such a sensitive topic. Religion has been such a touchy subject that we’ve eliminated any mention of God in the Pledge of Allegiance. It’s not Merry Christmas, but Happy Holidays. It’s one thing or another that tries to eliminate God.

And what got me thinking even more is what if Tebow wasn’t a Christian? What if he was Muslim and he openly praised Allah like he does with Jesus? How bad could it?

I suppose that with the sensitivity with religion in this day and age, it’s easier to be quiet and not get ridiculed. But for Tebow, he’s not like that. He’s in love with Jesus so much that it’s all he wants to talk about. And his comparison to Jesus to a marriage is very on target with the Bible. He’s too much in love to be quiet.

And that’s what makes Tebow such a good human being. Forget the fact that he plays football. The fact that he uses football as his stage to praise his wife in Jesus, now that’s what makes me respect him.

Controversial, polarizing, outspoken. All words to describe Tebow. To me, he’s just a good, strong, fellow believer. And to me, that’s what really matters.

3 Comments

Filed under Faith, Sports

3 responses to “My thoughts on Tim Tebow openly praising Jesus Christ and other things

  1. mich

    nice post. agree w/ you!

  2. Very good post. While we don’t often have a microphone put in our face, we too can do something similar. In Spanish there is a phrase that you hear a lot “Si Dios quiere” (If God wills) and we have a similar phrase from James “if the Lord wills” or “Lord willing”
    How we speak says a lot about us. (Of course, actions speak louder than words but the words are still important). Do we acknowledge God in our words, thoughts, and deeds?
    Lord willing, we will.

  3. Zak Griffith

    Hey, I just found your blog today and this is the only post I’ve seen so far but I really enjoyed it. I play college baseball but I have a passion for the NFL, and follow it very closely. Tebow has been a topic in the weight room a lot this week for that very reason. Some guys on the team like him, some don’t. But most of the guys who don’t like him, don’t because he is so open about loving Christ. I am a fellow Christian, and I respect Tebow for his consistently open love for his savior.

    Check my blog out sometime if you get a chance, I’m new a this, so feel free to give me some feedback.

    Really enjoyed your post!

Leave a Reply

