Two new television shows that debuted in January have grabbed my attention

I try my best to give new shows a chance when they first air. Normally if their commercials peak my interest enough, I will give the pilot episode a try and if I like it, I’ll be a fan for as long as the show continues to entertain me.

Of course, there have been instances that I have followed a show and it ends in cancellation. Example 1 and Example 2.

This Spring, there are two new shows that have caught my attention. And both shows are completely different. Here are the two shows and why I like them.

"Alcatraz" is a show based in San Francisco. I like shows based in The City.

Show: Alcatraz
Channel: FOX
Airs: Mondays at 9PM
Synopsis:  In 1963, Alcatraz closed and all the prisoners were transported to another facility. But according to the show, that’s not what happened. In present day, one by one, these prisoners that were supposedly transported are re-appearing and causing havoc within the city. These prisoners are in the same age in their re-appearance and it is now up to a detective and an Alcatraz historian to figure out what is going on. The government knew about the return of the prisoners and have offered to help figure out what’s going on.

So why do I like this show? I love shows and movies based in San Francisco. I feel that the city doesn’t get enough recognition. Second of all, I love anything that has to do with the 1960s. Alcatraz has always been intriguing to me (“The Rock” is one of my favorite movies of all time) so this show caught my attention.

It has a little bit of sci-fi, mystery and a storyline that’s interesting enough to keep me glued. I don’t know why these prisoners are appearing in present day, but it’s kind of cool to see where this show goes.

What I do hope that comes out of this show is the fact that it doesn’t drag on with each episode just being a story without development. I want to be on the edge of my seat every time I watch. I hope that every week I discover something that makes me want to watch it even more.

===

A show about fashion and high school problems. I don't even know why I enjoy "Jane By Design".

ShowJane By Design
Channel: ABC Family
Airs: Tuesdays at 9PM
Synopsis:  The show revolves around Jane, a high school student that applies for an internship at this fashion magazine. By mistake, she is hired to be the assistant to one of the top designers in the company. Now she is forced to balance her life with an adult job while keeping her life as a high schooler together. With the death of her father, her older brother is her legal guardian and he is now working at her school as a teacher. Also, Jane’s best friend is dating a girl that has tormented her for years. 

Yeah, this show does not fit into the description of things I like. But actually, it features some things that I really do enjoy secretly.

I am very huge in fashion. I have a major hat collection and when I really make an effort to dress, I have to make sure that I look right. I LOVE Project Runway and any time I go to the mall, I always look for what’s great in the fashion world.

However, I hate high school-related shows. I just never enjoyed high school stuff. I find it lame. But this show doesn’t really revolve too much with high school problems. It just mainly focuses on the difficulty of balancing both shows.

The show really sticks to me because I can somewhat relate to the show in terms of working for a magazine as an intern. It’s a little similar to Devil Wears Prada and overall, the show is just a fun watch. It’s not really super deep, but it is a breath of fresh air to some dull shows on television. Plus, it allows me to really appreciate the fashion industry a little more. And plus, it features Andie MacDowell, who helped make Groundhog Day a fun film.

And oh yeah, the opening theme is super catchy. It’s by Rachel Platten and after checking out her debut album, I’m a fan already!

===

FOX also has this new show called Touch that has potential. The commercials were intriguing and the pilot was OK, but enough to want me to give it another try. However, their next episode won’t air in March if I recall.

The show features Kiefer Sutherland. I am not a fan of his work. I never watched 24 so I won’t have too much about him. But he was in Phone Booth. That was a good movie.

Also, I am keeping tabs on ABC shows Pan Am and Desperate Housewives. Two solid shows. (DH isn’t new, but that show is full of solidness).

1 Comment

Filed under Television

One response to “Two new television shows that debuted in January have grabbed my attention

  1. Pingback: Watching “The River” despite knowing it has been canceled | Write a blog on a log, Sam I am

Leave a Reply

