Happy Easter: Celebrating the fulfillment of the promise of our salvation

He is risen!

Happy Easter!

This was the entry (CLICK HERE TO READ) I wrote last year for Easter. It explains that nothing about Christianity matter unless there was a resurrected Jesus. If you need to know one thing about Easter, that’s the one thing.

I still believe that but I wanted to add something this year. I remember as a kid and I grew up in this very traditional Episcopal Church and Easter was a big celebration. But it didn’t really tell me what we were celebrating. I knew about Jesus’ resurrection, but I didn’t get it.

It wasn’t until the later years when someone made it simple: Christianity means nothing with Easter.

That got me thinking and then understanding. The resurrection is the fulfillment of the promise God had for us. By the resurrection, death was concurred, sins were forgiven and eternal life was given to us.

But if Jesus never rose, then His entire mission was wasted and there would be no God to believe in. That’s why Easter is so big for the Christian faith.

It is with Easter that then the believers started to spread and preach the Gospel. And through that faith, salvation spread and people know that they can have that relationship with God.

Growing up in my church, it was only reading about Jesus that I knew about Easter. I didn’t understand what it all meant until later. But as the years have gone by and I have made Jesus my priority in life, it’s a great reminder for me every day to remember that Easter is the day God gave us true eternal life.

I hope all of you have a great Easter Sunday. Go enjoy whatever you’re doing and remember that we are all saved because of the resurrection. God’s promise is fulfilled.

Leave a comment

Filed under Faith

Leave a Reply

