I got a new job and I am moving to SoCal

My new job.

A few weeks ago, I drove down to Culver City to interview for a job with the NFL Network. Last week I got a call back and they said they want to hire me. I will work as an information researcher, ticker updater for the network. I will have to move to SoCal at the end of the month to start my new job.

This is tough because I will have to leave behind the Bay Area — my home. And also, I will have to leave behind friends and family to a totally new place that I have never been before. I will have to quit my dream job in covering the 49ers, but this is an opportunity that I cannot pass up.

There’s no guarantee that the network will keep me after my contract is up, but it’s a foot in the door for me to see how good I can be. I’m in the building. It’s up to me to make the most of this opportunity.

I’m in SoCal right now looking for a place to live and trying to figure out how I want to live the rest of the year in the area. It’s a little scary, but it’s also exciting just to be part of something big.

Praise God for answering my prayers. This is something that I have been hoping for over a year and now it’s here. It’s something that I knew I had to potentially do to further my career as a sports journalist.

I’m going to miss my family. I’m going to miss my friends. I’m going to miss the restaurants that I love to eat at. I am going to miss going to the Coliseum. I’m going to be able to miss just being a chill NorCal, Bay Area gangster. (But I will find my way back for visits — that’s a must.)

But change is good and now I am going to see what is ahead for me. I am very grateful for all the opportunities, friends and everything that has come my way to build me to this point. It’s only the beginning of something big.

5 Comments

Filed under Work

5 responses to “I got a new job and I am moving to SoCal

  1. Congrats old friend. Good to see you’re making moves. SoCal is a big move, but I know you’re always going to be Yay Area at heart.

  2. Good Luck! Culver City welcomes you with open arms.

Leave a Reply

