The challenge of being challenged in this world

Challenge accepted!

Ever feel challenged?

“Consider it pure joy, my brothers and sisters, whenever you face trials of many kinds, because you know that the testing of your faith produces perseverance.”
— James 1:2-3 (NIV)

It’s challenging to be challenged. And it’s even more challenging to respond to the challenges.

That’s been what’s going on with me lately. I don’t think that I have been challenged as much this past year than I have in my life. My mind and my heart has been challenged to stay strong and maintain a positive attitude.

I welcome challenges in my life because they make me a better person. I can’t coast through life being all simple and easy. I want to be different and in order to do that, I have to take the big risks.

This past year I challenged myself to be a better writer and I stepped out of my comfort zone to be the best beat writer ever. And during that time, I pushed myself to the limit to be better. It was hard and I had to take some risks to get it done, but it was all worth it.

It’s the same thing that’s going on right now. I am being challenged to be the best worker I can be with the NFL Network. That means I have to pick up my stuff and move to SoCal to do it. I don’t know many people in the area and the place I am living is going to be tough. But to see how good I can be, I need to take this risk and be challenged to be the best.

Even with my relationship with friends and with God, I am constantly challenged to be a strong leader. I am always known to be a follower and that has hurt me in the past. Now that I have seen the fruits of taking the challenge and being a strong leader, I can be a good friend and a better believer.

Being challenged happens all the time to us and it’s how we respond that matters the most. Some people back away from it and they coast through life. But I am the opposite now. I take all the challenges. It’s challenging to be challenged because there are so many unknowns. But I guess the exciting part about the challenge of being challenged is the uncertainty.

My life isn’t supposed to be easy. I’ve realized that that’s not meant for me. God’s got bigger things for me. I have a complicated life and that’s all part of the challenges I encounter. And I welcome these challenges because I know it will make me a better person.

Accept the challenges in life. It’s a challenge to be challenged, but getting past all through that makes the journey worth it. I’m in the middle of one right now but the end result that I see in front of me is worth it. I believe it.

Leave a comment

Filed under Faith, Observation

Leave a Reply

