My farewell to my old gig and thank you to all my supporters

This is my farewell piece that I am publicly publishing later today. But I wanted to get it out here first on my personal blog. You can see the entry here later today.

Here’s my farewell piece:

Saying farewell to my dream job covering the 49ers and off to something new

While I was growing up as a kid and started to understand the game of football, the San Francisco 49ers were the first team I watched. My dad came to America in 1981 (good timing) and immediately gravitated to the Super Bowl championship teams of the decade. Naturally, he taught me to be a 49ers fan and still to this very day, that’s the team I cheer for.

Getting a chance to cover the team I fell in love with was a blessing and a dream come true, so it’s tough for me to announce that today I will be stepping down from my job as a 49ers writer.

I have been offered an opportunity to work on information research and updates with the NFL Network. It’s not glamorous but it was too good of an opportunity to pass up. I will be moving to the network’s headquarters in Culver City today to begin this new chapter of my career.

Stepping away from my dream job as a 49ers writer was a decision that I had considered for some time. There was still that magic of being a fan and getting the opportunity to cover the team, but it was time for me step away while the magic was still there.

It was getting tougher for me to cover the team on a daily basis and even though it was exciting to be a part of something special, I wanted to see what else was out there for me. At only 25 years old, I knew that I could afford to take a leap into something different.

In my three seasons covering the 49ers for Examiner.com, I learned a lot about the workings of a professional football team and the personalities of the players. I enjoyed every moment on the job talking with the coaches, interacting with 49ers legends, and meeting with players and getting to know them as men. The relationships that I’ve built with the players over the years will always be something that I will treasure for the rest of my life.

I am very grateful and thankful for the professionalism and respect that the coaches and players gave me during interviews and practices. I am very thankful that I had the opportunity to work with a tremendous public relations staff that provided me with all the necessary information for my work and for giving me the opportunity to cover practices, press conferences and games. I would have never gotten a chance to do all of that right out of college without their help and trust in me.

I am very thankful and appreciative of the friendships I’ve built with all the writers that I’ve met. All the local, national and international media that I’ve met over the years all have been great to me. Especially with the daily beat writers, the advice, conversations, laughs that I’ve shared with all of them really made this job so much fun. I couldn’t have been blessed with a better group of people to share this journey with.

I want to send a special thank you to every single person that clicked on my page to read my updates on the team. It was a privilege to be considered one of the sources you went to for your 49ers news. Thank you to all the fans that chatted with me during training camp, outside the team headquarters, through Twitter and Facebook and on my site about the 49ers. I enjoyed interacting with all of you.

Taking over my spot as 49ers writer is my good friend Christian Gin. He’s an aspiring sports writer from San Jose State and it would mean a lot if you gave him the same respect that you gave me when I first started. He was a big help for me during the draft and I believe he’ll transition into this new role just fine. His style is a little different than mine but he’ll provide great insight and information. You can visit his new page here and follow him on Twitter (@CGin49ers).

I’ll still be writing on my sports blog (http://butattheendoftheday.com) daily during my free time so you can still catch up my writing on the different things happening in the sports world. I’ll also still be active on my Twitter (@SamuelYLam) with comments on the NFL world.

I leave this gig with nothing but great memories, smiles and hopes of a bright future. I really enjoyed every single moment on this fantastic voyage. Having the opportunity to do so much right out of college was way more than I could ever ask for. Looking back at these last three years, I can honestly say that nobody had it better than me. It was perfect.

Leave a comment

Filed under Work

Leave a Reply

