Seek God first for true peace

Peace

Working these early morning shifts at 4:30AM gives me a lot of time to think early on in the day and one of the things that I have been doing is getting some inspirational words from the Bible sent to my inbox every morning.

Most times I read them but never give enough time to reflect on it. This morning’s message made me take a step back.

Many people cry out for comfort, security, and relief, but they haven’t taken the first steps to turn away from sin and open the channels to God. They have not repented and trusted in him. If you want true peace, seek God first. Then he will give you his peace.

This is derived from Isaiah 48:22: “But there is no peace for the wicked,” says the LORD.”

The verse really doesn’t reveal too much but the above explanation really drives it to the point. Especially with me being overwhelmed with living in a new place in a strange land with a new job, I really need God so much more to give me peace.

I’ve been through so many stressful times a lot in my life and God has provided me relief every time. It’s really good to know that God can help me carry the load in life. Even though my mind is stressing me out over so many things, I really need to go back and understand that God is in control  and I can only do so much.

With peace from God in my heart, things don’t seem so bad after all. In fact, it’s a little better.

Leave a comment

Filed under Faith

Leave a Reply

