How to win a Twitter contest without actually knowing the answer

Yesterday, the Oakland A’s held a Twitter contest and as you can see by the above, I won. I love Twitter contests and it’s one of the main reasons why I signed up for Twitter.

This was a little tougher because in order for me to answer the trivia question, I had to have a copy of the latest A’s magazine. Without it, I had no way of knowing the answer. But I’m smart enough to figure it out.

When the question was posted, I went to the original tweet from the A’s and waited to see how other people responded. When I saw the first response, I prepped my cell phone to tweet the exact same answer.

I then went to the Twitter search and entered the terms “@Athletics” and “8” to see how many recent tweets featured those terms. I started counting and when I counted six responses, I then sent my tweet. By the time my tweet was sent, it ended up being the 10th and winning tweet.

And that’s how you win a Twitter contest without actually knowing the answer. And for five minutes, the A’s were following me on Twitter.

1 Comment

Filed under Sports, Twitter

One response to “How to win a Twitter contest without actually knowing the answer

  1. Pingback: I just won another Twitter contest: This is how it was done | Write a blog on a log, Sam I am

Leave a Reply

