Would you go to the “Atheism Night” promotion at the ballpark?

I’m not sure how I should feel about this.

Categorize this into the “Wait, what?” category. Here’s the link to the story.

Friday August 10th, the St. Paul Saints will host a tailgate party before their game, both of which are sponsored by the Minnesota Atheists and the American Atheists. The team will wear jerseys with the name “Mr Paul Aints” which will be auctioned after the game as a fundraiser for the organizations.

The Saints are a member of the North Division of the American Association of Independent Professional Baseball, which is not affiliated with Major League Baseball.

The event is being called “A Night of Unbelievable Fun.” Everywhere a sign in the stadium calls them the “Saints” the letter S will be covered. Banners for the organization will hang in the stadium and an information table will be set up at the entrance.

So my initial reaction was actually a LMFAO moment. The idea in itself is funny and unexpected. And this is the first time I’ve ever heard of an atheist organization show itself at a sporting event.

But should I be laughing? Should I actually think this promotion is kinda cool?

As you all know, I am a Christian so I am not for atheism. I believe in God, which is the opposite of atheism. But a part of me really wishes that I can attend this event.

It’s not because I’m questioning my faith. It’s actually because I want to enhance my faith. How can I understand the nonbelievers better? How about an event where we have something in common (baseball), which gives me an opportunity to interact and understand these people? After all, Jesus hung out with people that were different than Him so he could know them better.

I don’t think that me attending an event like this is bad. Obviously I am not for the cause, but I feel that it’s an opportunity for me to tell people about Christ — if they want to hear it. And even if I don’t get a chance to do it, at least my knowledge expands instead of the sheltered kind.

Now some people might say that it’s wrong to have any kind of religious promotion, that it’s bad business that can alienate fans. And that is true, very true. Never in a business should you try to involve religion or politics.

But yet at the same time, the team name SAINTS is a religious thing. So I don’t know how we in America should view religion. We mention God in the pledge of allegiance, have team names and cities named after religious figures, yet something like this would rile up people?

I would imagine if there was a Christian promotion before a ballgame, Christians would love the idea, because it’s a chance for their faith to be exposed to the public. That’s the same feeling these atheists feel. But because something like this ruffles the feathers of Christians, they are against it — yet they would love the same thing.

I hope that there aren’t any kind of protesters from religious groups trying to ban this. I actually hope that this event goes through and it’s well attended. A part of me wants the nonbelievers to know that Christians won’t come and ruin their lifestyle in their typical judging ways.

But I also hope that this is the opportunity for Christians to meet and understand these nonbelievers. It’s one of those things where just because it’s an event gathered by atheists that Christians won’t be afraid to attend. It’s a good way for Christians help relieve that image of them being douchebags to nonbelievers.

(This is me being under the impression that nonbelievers don’t like Christians because of their pushy, holier than thou ways. I don’t like that it has become like this.)

Am I wrong to think this way? As much as this is a strange promotion that I never would be OK to begin with, now that it has been put into place, we gotta make the best out of it, right?

All this really is to me is a great opportunity to love our neighbor, even though they don’t believe the same things we do.

Leave a comment

Filed under Faith, Sports

Leave a Reply

