Thoughts on the Aurora theater shooting in Colorado

As I continue to read on and try to digest the incident that occurred in Colorado, there are a couple things that come to my mind. The first thing is what should be done to prevent all this. I honestly don’t think there is a solution.

We’re not going to put metal detectors at every movie theater because that won’t be financially smart. We can’t eliminate midnight showings. Honestly, I don’t think there is a way to change something to prevent this. It might just be an is0lated incident and we can’t try to correlate this to any other kind of shootings in the past.

The other thing that came to my mind is the mind of the killer. All accounts from what I have read from friends and so forth is that there was no sign of him acting like this. He hung out with friends a couple days before like a normal person. He did drop out of the university but nothing like that would be alarming.

I don’t know if there were signs. I can’t say I would know unless we do more research.

But every person has a breaking point. There is one point compounded by pressure where a person snaps. Some have detectable signs while some others harbor it in until it just explodes.

Maybe this is what happened. It just was all stored up until the killer exploded.

I am against the death penalty. People have called for it in this case but I don’t see it. In fact, I don’t think any incident is worth the death penalty. It wastes our tax money, it’s not a deterrent and the Christian part of me understands that it’s not up to us to judge a person’s life.

So what is the solution to this? I honestly don’t know. And I won’t try to come up with one. I’ll just have to sit back and let it digest and see if there are any kind of ideas, new reports.

Sometimes the best thing to do is to not overreact. I am not trying to overreact. I just know that 50+ lives are now changed because of one man’s action. That’s already a lot for me to take in now. Not going to cry for blood during this time of mourning. I hope that we all can act responsibly in our reactions to this.

2 Comments

Filed under Observation

2 responses to “Thoughts on the Aurora theater shooting in Colorado

  1. breakboundaries

    I think it is way too easy for anybody in this country to obtain a gun. And thus begins a debate about gun control…

Leave a Reply

