Lois

Can you read my mind?

Do you know what I’m thinking of? There’s so much going on in my mind right now. I’m not sure how all of this is possible. Only yesterday did you come into my life and swoop me from the sky. This can’t be real. How can a man catch me in mid-air with one arm and catch a helicopter in another? Am I dreaming all of this? This is probably when I should wake up from this wild fantasy.

But I can’t. You’re all I’ve been thinking of since I met you. I don’t know if you’ll ever tell me the answers to all the questions I have.

Do you know what it is that you do to me?

I’ve never felt this way before ever about someone. I don’t know how to feel. Here I am flying in the sky with you holding me in your arms. Where are we going? I don’t really care. I can’t even describe it. My life has now been turned upside down because of you. Mr. White wants me to get the scoop and get him a story. But I don’t know if I can. I’m lost in the sky with you. Please don’t let me go. I’ve never been so free in my life.

I don’t know who you are

Where are you from? Why are you here now? Why did you save me? Your super strength. You’re flying! Your smile. I wonder if I could ever get to know you. You seem too good to be true. Maybe because you aren’t from around here.

Just a friend from another star

You must be some higher being. Maybe you’re sent from God. I don’t believe there is a God but if you are from a god, then maybe I was wrong all this time. You look just like everyone else. I see your face and I want to believe you’re like us, but you’re not. You can talk and you called yourself a friend. I’ve never had any friends like you.

None of my friends are such a mystery to me. Why are you?

Here I am like a kid at a school

I’ve dreamed of superheroes all my life. Lucy was all into the comics growing up. She would tell me of people with super powers that save the day and fight crime. I would imagine about how exciting it would be if someone like that was real. Are you real? Or are you just something that I saw in a comic as a kid?

Holding hands with a god, I’m a fool

This has to be real. I can feel your grip around my fingers. The breeze is flowing through my hair. The night is cold and I can feel goosebumps. You are real.

Maybe you aren’t. I am so gullible.

Will you look at me quivering

Gosh I am so nervous. Is this a date? I can’t even call it a date. I don’t even know his name. My heart is pounding. I can see city right beneath me. The bridge. The clouds. I’m so close to the moon. Why did he take me on this ride in the sky? I’m not supposed to be up here.

Like a little girl shivering?

I’m cold. I should have worn a jacket. This ride was so unexpected. I should have known better. Maybe he can read my mind. Maybe he can tell that I am cold.

But look at all that is out there. I have never seen the city like this. I’m holding on to a man who I don’t even understand. My heart is racing. I feel safe around him but I don’t know if I should trust him. Please don’t let go of my hand.

You can see right through me

He has to know what I am thinking. If he can fly and catch helicopters, then he has to be able to read my mind. If that’s the case, he has to know. Maybe he has X-ray vision and can see through my clothes. Oh I better cover up. But he seems like a good guy. Maybe he can but he won’t. He did say he can’t see through lead. I sure did embarrass him with the underwear question earlier.

If he can see through my clothes, can he see through me into my heart? I know he can. I want to show him.

Can you read my mind?

I wish you can just read my mind right now. I want to ask you so many questions but I don’t know how. You’re looking at me now and I know that you want me to say something. But I’m at a loss for words. Please tell me everything. You know what I want to ask, but I don’t think I can.

I’m scared to ask. You’re taking me to places I’ve never been before. Can this last forever?

Can you picture the things I’m thinking of?

Would it be wrong to wish that you were a reality? You can take me away and we can live together far from here. You can hold my hand forever. We can be happy together.

Wondering why you are

I’m just a nobody. Ten years with the same job, no time for a relationship. My closest friends are the people I work with. I live alone in an apartment near downtown. Why me? What about me do you like? Out of all the people in the city, you chose me. I have never met someone like you and I don’t even know if this is real. I’m not all that.

How come you’re here with me?

All the wonderful things you are

You’re so tall. Six-foot-three, 225 pounds. Blue eyes. You have a great smile. You look young too. The jet black hair and the broad shoulders. Your outfit. You’re right out of a comic book. You talk with so much elegance and you’re so polite. There’s no way you’re from around here.

You can fly, you belong to the sky

Surely you may be a god. No human can fly. Are you a god in disguise? I haven’t seen you walk around the streets of Metropolis. Maybe you’re from out of town. Out of state? What country are you from? Are you from this planet? I don’t know where Krypton is.

Maybe you live in the sky. That’s how I first met you and that’s where we are right now. Can you tell me that at least? Tell me why you can fly.

You and I could belong to each other

But does it really matter? I think I’m falling for you. You saved me life last night and now you’re taking me on a flight across the city. You must have feelings for me. No man would go through all this trouble without feelings.

I can let go of my life for this. I’ve been stuck with reality for so long — constantly writing stories of terrible things happening all over the place. This is the best thing that’s ever happened to me and I don’t know if it’s even real. I want this to be real. I don’t want this to end.

Please take me with you.

If you need a friend

You probably aren’t from around here. Home is out there somewhere. This is just a stop on your way back. I get it. But at least you know me. Maybe whenever you’re in Metropolis. Are you by yourself a lot? Are there more like you?

If you’re alone I can be a friend. I know I don’t have all the great things like others but I can always listen. You can tell me anything. I’ll keep your secret. You can trust me.

I’m the one to fly to

You can always come back. Please don’t let this be the last time we do this. I’m always here for you. Even if you never see me again, always know that I will always make time for you. These last two nights have changed my life. You don’t know what you’ve done to me.

If you need to be loved

Do you know what love is? How you take my breath away. If you ever need someone to turn to, I can be that person. I’ll never leave you. I’ll always be right here. Just tell me.

Here I am, read my mind!

I’m opening myself up to you. Tell me everything. I’m so scared to ask. I don’t want to lose you. I don’t want this moment to go away ever. Please look inside me. Can you picture what I’m thinking of? I have so many questions.

Don’t let this dream end. Please don’t let go. Not right now. Let’s stay in the air forever. Just tell me who you are. I know I want to ask you but I don’t know how. Can you read my mind?

1 Comment

Filed under Childhood, Movies, Writing

One response to “Lois

  1. Pingback: My fascination with Superman, his struggles, our struggles, Lois Lane and his Jesus appeal | Write a blog on a log, Sam I am

Leave a Reply

