Merry Christmas and oh yeah, that Jesus guy is involved somewhere

That’s deep!

MERRY CHRISTMAS!!!

As some of you know, I am not a big fan of Christmas. In fact, I can’t stand it. But let me be clear that the Christmas I do no like is the one that the commercials are telling me about. It’s the one that tells me that I must buy gifts, that I must start celebrating in August or any of that. That’s something I have grown tired of and this year, I did not buy any gifts for anyone. In fact, it’s a huge relief.

But I still celebrate the Christmas that is about Jesus Christ. I don’t know where we lost the Jesus in our Christmas, but I wish it wasn’t so muddled these days.

I look back at my previous Christmas celebrations and it has no Jesus. It was all about gifts and a fake fat man in red. And it hurts me because I had been caught up in gift giving and trying to figure out how I was going to spend for others.

It’s not all bad. Giving gifts is nice and I like doing it. But I don’t want to do it because the commercial said I should. I want to do it because of Jesus’ love.

I guess as this Christmas day is here, I want to remind myself that I don’t want to be caught up in all the hype. I want to be reminded that Christmas celebrates Jesus’ arrival on earth and the beginning of the foundation of eternal salvation. But I sound like a broken record because I mention this every year. But it’s for real.

We’ve lost Jesus somewhere down the line. I want to be reminded of His awesomeness every Christmas. Gifts are fine and fun and all that gravy, but when I start to forget about Jesus, that’s when I worry about it.

I’m not going to discourage you to give gifts and have the nog, but don’t forget about Jesus. After all, Christmas is named after Him.

Be safe and have fun! I am on a plane now heading to Washington DC.

Leave a comment

Filed under Faith

Leave a Reply

