Death to church politics and all that nonsensical nonsense

Vultures.

Church is boring. It’s a stupid place of rules, traditions and systematic work to continue this path of uncertainty with a glimmer of potential hope if I follow the rules. That is church.

Well, that’s not really church. But that is what church was for me for pretty much most of my life. I went to a traditional Episcopal church. It’s very strict with hymns, kneeling, standing, sitting, lather, rinse and repeat. Everyone there had to dress up nice and they had cloaks and whatnot every the acolytes, priest, choir. I’m not saying it’s bad, but it wasn’t good for me.

It ran like some political office. People would be voted into certain roles in the church. They budgeted. They held meetings. It was very strict. It was a business.

There were times where I learned about Jesus, sure. But did it grow? Did it mean anything to me? No. The goal was to keep the train moving in the church. And for me as a kid, it was boring. There was no attempt to keep me there. I didn’t like it. They had nothing to attract the youth. It was a place to tell aging people about the afterlife, or at least to keep their raft afloat until death.

Terrible.

The place was a place for vultures. There were leechers waiting to suck the life out of the people in the way so they can take control of the church. It was all politics. Every single moment it just seemed that there was a bigger agenda there than trying to give life to people. It was very bad.

This is why I never returned to my church after I left for college. I showed up once or twice for other people, but I didn’t return to the church. I didn’t want to bleed to death.

The point I want to make is that I’ve been to a lot of churches and this thing happens all the time. It’s terrible, but even for me as a non-member, first-time visitor, I can see it. I can feel it when I come in. It’s a problem that churches have today.

A lot of times it’s because the leaders aren’t operating on faith. Instead, they’re operating on maintaining the status quo. It’s essentially them trying to keep an image, keep order and just staying afloat.

That’s not what God wants out of our Christian walk, yet that’s what I see. I’ve seen where the balance of power is shifted from Jesus onto the people. I’ve seen the death of a lot of people’s faiths because of just some bad stuff like this in church.

I’ve fortunately been to enough churches where the power struggle isn’t there. There was a desire to be real. The humility was there and there was the desire to uplift everyone. That was the kind of place that I found myself growing.

This is my hope for all the churches that suck the life out of people. Please, let’s stop it. I see the potential growth and revolution here in America yet so many times we shoot them down because churches are allowed to operate as a religion. With politics, control and power, the word of God never gets anywhere. Instead, it’s fed to the people strategically and made them to digest it without an open mind and heart.

This is my experience and I know not everyone has had such an experience. But I know this is out there and I just hope that this kind of nonsense just dies. A church with no direction because of an imbalance of power really can destroy a faith. I was lucky I got out before it killed me. I hope others will get that opportunity too before it’s too late.

3 Comments

Filed under Faith

3 responses to “Death to church politics and all that nonsensical nonsense

  1. I was raised in the Episcopal Church, too. I have a bit of a different take than you even though I no longer attend Episcopal services. I even attended an Episcopal school for grades 1-3, ages ago. We went to chapel daily and I loved that time listening to our priest tell the beautiful stories. I felt compelled by the reverence, the kneeling benches and lovely stained glass. However, I now attend a small, poor non-denominational church with my husband and I am more moved by the out-pouring of spirit in which we participate on Sundays. I think each of us simply has to find the right fit for our spiritual needs. And I have come to believe that we get out of the service what we ALLOW ourselves to receive. I don’t like church politics — just like you. It would be nice if the focus were on saving souls and not dollars and power! Great read. Thanks for sharing it!

    • I’ve been to good Episcopal churches that wasn’t like my home church. I’ve been to a lot of other kinds that was full of politics. The thing is that the churches we need here are the ones that are fueled by the people, not the power struggle.

Leave a Reply

