Gold Dust Woman

Stevie.

It’s a mystery that I have wondered recently. What if. What if?

I know I am too young to even understand or even realize what it would have been like. But now today when I listen, I wonder what it would have been like.

Your voice enchants me. I close my eyes and I can picture the magical journey the words take me. It also helps that your outfits are just as mystical as your voice.

If I was born earlier, I would have been quite the obsessive fan. I would have bought every single album you were a part of. I would listen all through the night, picturing what it would be like to go to your show. What it would be like if I somehow ran into you after a show. What would I do? How would I act? Would I even get a chance to talk to you?

Like you sang that one time, I feel that were the white-winged dove. You stood out more than anyone else. Your smile, your outfit, your voice. Nobody else caught my attention like you.

Plus we came from kind of the same place. That’s pretty cool.

But this is all just wondering. Decades too late and the times are a lot different. But the what if is still there.

I remember when stars would capture our television sets. Air waves on the radio would fill the living room. Screaming fans? I probably would be one of them.

Rhiannon, Landslide, Sara, Gypsy, Gold Dust Woman — it’s like you sang to me. Even when you Tell Me Lies.

I’m just left to wonder. How would I be if it was the same time?

But it’s not and I continue on life with this little fantasy in my mind. I’d like to imagine for a moment what it would be like. In a few months, maybe I can get a glimpse of that and the craving is satisfied.

I don’t know. I’m just late to the show. I just keep wondering.

Leave a comment

Filed under Music

Leave a Reply

