What a difference a year makes at my job

On May 2, 2012, it was my second day at NFL Network but it also was the toughest. That was the day that the bounty punishments went down and Junior Seau’s suicide. There I was forced into action into breaking news and all kinds of stuff in only my second day.

Because of that day, I was so prepared for anything else coming my way. I was thrown into the fire and I learned as much as I could in that day. That was a week’s worth of training all put into that one day. I am better off for it. And I’ve been great at what I do since then.

Fast forward to May 2, 2013, yesterday, and so much has changed since then. I still have the same job but the company has trusted me with more stuff. Yesterday, I was personally asked to work on our new weekly review show that will go through 10 weeks. This was in part because during the draft I was asked to work on the social media aspects.

Because of my work (which appeared to be very good), they had me help out with the show last weekend. After seeing and asking my input, looks like I will be a full-time deal with this 10-week period. After last night’s show, I was congratulated and praised for my work. It was a great feeling because for the first time, I really truly felt appreciated and felt that my work had value.

It’s crazy that in one year, I was thrown into the fire and I survived it and am now doing bigger and better things. I don’t know where this will lead us but I am now confident more than ever in what I can do and what this company sees out of my work.

Leave a comment

Filed under Work

Leave a Reply

