I have never supported Abercrombie & Fitch and then this viral video comes out

Racist.

I never liked Abercrombie & Fitch. I had no reason to.

Their clothes don’t fit me. Their models don’t look like me. They can’t afford light bulbs. Pre-ripped jeans are stupid. Oh, and they made a shirt with the above image.

I never knew about this company’s existence until college. Then in the malls I would see the store and felt that these people were the scums of the fashion world. Then this comes out about how the company specifically targets a small demographic.

That prompted this viral video.

LOL. Clothes for douchebags.

But it’s kind of true. I always viewed certain people that wore A&F to be that just because of how they looked. And apparently, their CEO has that kind of mentality too.

This video takes on two points and one of them I laugh about. The other, not so much.

The fact that these A&F clothes are donated to the demographic A&F wants to avoid is fantastic. Sticking it to the man with this is a great idea. Not only does it send a message, but it also gives homeless people some new clothes.

A&F is evil. They hate you if you aren’t perfect. They are elite. They are douchebags and their clothing designs represent that too.

But this video hurts me because it also treats homeless people as lesser than nothing. I have a huge heart for the homeless and despite the outward appearance of giving clothes to homeless, using them to fuel an agenda is fair. They need clothes. But just using them like this isn’t a great idea. In fact, I don’t know if there is a good way to portray this.

Homeless people are people too. In fact, they are no different than you and me. A lot of them have the desire to do right, work hard and make a living. It’s just that their situation is different than us. That’s really it. I have met and talked to with a lot of homeless people in my life and my heart breaks for them. I don’t know how to help them sometimes but I never view them as lesser than I am. This video does that.

It’s a two-way street with this video. The message is strong. A nice middle finger to the douchebags. But using the homeless to fuel that message? I don’t know.

Not the demographic A&F wants.

Leave a comment

Filed under YouTube

Leave a Reply

