I’m tired of telling people that they’re sinners

Yeah.

That’s it. I’m done with it. I’m sick and tired of telling people that what they’re doing is a sin. It means nothing.

(Actually, that’s not really true. But you’ll get my point as you continue to read.)

But as the world keeps changing and my fascination with human behavior continues to grow, I start to notice how the Christian faith somehow connects with the world. But actually in many, how it fails to communicate with the world.

Considering that we have these people and these people promoting the Christian faith, there’s a major discord about a lot of what is right and what is wrong.

I’m all for telling people that they are sinners (which is true) and telling them to turn to Jesus. But has that actually worked in preaching the Gospel? What good does it mean to a prostitute if you tell them that God says they’re sinners? If that prostitute doesn’t know anything about God, the words mean absolutely nothing.

Same thing goes with anytime we tell people that OUR GOD isn’t happy with someone’s actions. But when we tell them that, do we realize how empty those words are? Pearls before swines, right? We throw around the word of God assuming that the people will get it despite not knowing anything about it.

You can protest homosexuality all you want with Scripture, but it’s words to deaf ears for people who don’t know anything about Jesus. You can show up to concerts and protest sexual immortality, but unless the people understand God, then it means nothing.

So I vow to now no longer approach people and throw out “you’re a sinner” remark. I’ve seen way too many Christians do it. I’ve seen too many of my friends do it. It’s not how it works. I don’t do it often, if ever. But I still feel like my actions portray it.

What’s more important really? Condemning people or bringing them hope? Hope is good. People need hope. When people are struggling, do they want to hear condemnation or words of hope?

Most times when we talk about sin, the people don’t understand the value of what they’re doing because they don’t get Jesus. But if I instead told them the message of hope in salvation, then their sin then means something. So instead of telling people how they’re damned, how about telling them how they’re saved?

So many times we flush out our own morals and convictions to people, forcing them to live a certain way that we perceive as right. That is not right. In fact, I don’t even think that’s biblical. Jesus told us to spread the good word to people, not to crucify them just because they’re different. What’s more important: saving souls or telling them they aren’t saved? There’s a difference.

We’re supposed to rebuke our brothers and sisters who sin. I know that. But we can never reach that point until we welcome those people to Christ. Only then do our words about sin hold value. The more valuable message we should be telling first is about Jesus and salvation. That’s the love we are supposed to give. Until then, I can’t find a situation where it makes sense for us to condemn on first meeting.

In any kind of common relationship, we have to get to know people first and build the relationship in trust. Only then can we be real. At least that’s how I see it.

Maybe I’m wrong. Maybe I’m right. I don’t know. All I know is that through God, we are to love one another. And by condemning people first without showing love doesn’t appear to fit into that.

That’s all I wanted to say. My thoughts out loud. Feel free to comment if you agree or disagree. This is an ongoing learning experience for me.

1 Comment

Filed under Faith

One response to “I’m tired of telling people that they’re sinners

  1. Reblogged this on Love God, Love People, Change the World and commented:
    This is part 4 of 5, of Sam Lam’s reblog series on how the church deals with outsiders. Here, Sam reflects on the value of leading with Jesus, instead of leading with sin. He states, “We’re supposed to rebuke our brothers and sisters who sin. I know that. But we can never reach that point until we welcome those people to Christ. Only then do our words about sin hold value. The more valuable message we should be telling first is about Jesus and salvation. That’s the love we are supposed to give.”

Leave a Reply

