Just watched the pilot for ‘Devious Maids’ and it’s a whole lot of stereotypes

As some of you may know, I have seen every episode of Desperate Housewives. Naturally when I found out about Devious Maids, it grabbed my attention. Not only is the style and approach the same, but it involves latin maids, which is something that I kind of am interested it. It’s partially because I like seeing the minority get some TV time, but I bet I can identify with their struggles because of their struggle to fit in this country.

But of course, this show had to touch on a lot of stereotypes to make this show work. We have rich white people problems, neglecting mothers, liars, backstabbers and basically all the kind of drama that you love in a TV show like this. I for one am hooked.

I wouldn’t say this show is all that great. It might not even last past one season. But with the mind of Eva Longoria and Marc Cherry, it does what it needed to get my attention. All the lies, deceit, sex and all the other things in between, I’m stuck in a show where there are hidden agendas everywhere and a storyline that somehow is good enough to make me want more.

Guilty pleasure? Probably. But why not? It’s the summer time!

Leave a comment

Filed under Television

Leave a Reply

