Day Above Ground’s ‘Asian Girlz’ music video is so racist, but it’s OK because they have an Indonesian bassist

What the hell is this?

This originally had a disclaimer, but they deleted it.

So by appreciating Asian women, you assume all women from all parts of Asia are the same, go for their slanty eyes and yellow thighs and all that jazz. Just because you have a token Asian dude doesn’t make it OK. Token Asian dude doesn’t work that way. And shame on that Indonesian dude.

Plus, this song isn’t even good.

And who’s that “Asian girl” in the video? It’s model Levy Tran. She only realized her mistake with the video after it came out and backlash ensued.

You didn’t think that these lyrics would offend people, let alone yourself?

Asian girl, She’s my Asian girl
You’re my Asian girl, You’re my Asian girl
You’re my Asian girl, She’s my Asian girl
Yes, my Asian girl, You’re my Asian girl

I love your sticky rice
Butt fucking all night
Korean barbecue
Bitch I love you
I love your creamy yellow thighs
Ooh you’re slanted eyes
It’s the Year of the Dragon
Ninja pussy I’m stabbin’

Asian girl, You’re’s my Asian girl
You’re my Asian girl, She’s my Asian girl
You’re my Asian girl, She’s my Asian girl
Yes, my Asian girl, You’re my Asian girl

Superstitious feng shui shit (what)
Now lay your hair by the toilet
I’ve got your green tea boba
So put your head on my shoulder
Your momma’s so pretty
Best nails in the city
Pushing your daddy’s Mercedes

Asian girl, She’s my Asian girl
You’re my Asian girl, You’re my Asian girl
You’re my Asian girl, She’s my Asian girl
Yes, my Asian girl, You’re my asian girl

New Year’s in February (February?)
That’s fine with me (I guess)
Yeah, shark soup (What? Fuck it, we’ll eat it)
Oh, tradition, tradition, tradition, yeah yeah
Baby, you’re my Asian girl
You’re legally (best kind)
So baby marry me
Come on sit on my lap (right here baby)
Or we’ll send you back
And you age so well
I can barely tell
17 or 23?
Baby doesn’t matter to me

Asian girl, She’s my Asian girl
You’re my Asian girl, You’re my Asian girl
You’re my Asian girl, She’s my Asian girl
Yes, my Asian girl, You’re my asian girl

Arcadia
J-Town
Alhambra
K-Town
Temple City
Don’t forget Chinatown
Get down
Happy endings all over
Bruce Lee
Toyota
Spicy tuny
Sashimi
Tasty Garden
Fried Lice
Sailor Moon
Wonton soup
Spring roll
Tibet
Foot rub rub a down down down
Fa ra ra ra ra ra ra ra ra ra ra
Tofu
All over you all over me

Well here we are. How can we get respect when Asian people themselves don’t respect themselves?

But then again, racism is a one-way street. We can have black people call themselves “n*****” without repercussion and they can get all racist with each other and somehow it’s all OK. But when a white dude does it, it’s all bad. It’s disrespectful all around but somehow we’ve let it happen.

Sadly this video will be forgotten within a week and we’ll move on. This bad won’t be famous anymore and everything will just disappear. It will only be a matter of time before something dumb comes again and we’ll be angry for a minute and move on.

We haven’t improved much really. In fact, we’ve really just stayed put and refused to move.

===

EDIT: They’re pulling the video, but they left this message for all of us:

This video is intended to be a satirical, provocative, absurd, & even silly work of art. The lyrics, story, and visuals are so completely over-the-top and ridiculous that we thought it’d be impossible to miss the point..

But some very vocal groups, especially the blog, “Angry Asian Man,” attacked it right out of the gate very aggressively. Their fury was soon amplified by the blog/news cycle. Shortly after, the views and craziness began climbing by the second.

Angry Asian Man, to you we say – all’s fair so well done! We salute you. Seriously. No satire intended this time.

So due to the overwhelming misunderstanding of this video & the anger it has incited – especially the bizarre and horrible personal attacks on actress Levy Tran – we’re pulling the video down within the next 48 hours.

But we’ll leave it up until then to give anyone who cares a chance to see for themselves what it’s really about before it disappears from our channel and website forever.
So just step back, take a breath, and relax.

We thank those who’ve watched the video & understood it in the spirit it was intended. We loved your thoughtful comments. You are heroic souls, indeed. We will be posting some of your comments (along with the funnier negative ones) on our website. Here are just a few of the hundreds that caught our eye…

mishisoup 58 minutes ago
: I think the video is amusing (and really weirrrd, haha). My view as a 26 year old Asian American woman is that I’m not offended because I know the difference between someone seriously trying to be demeaning and someone who’s joking around. This is obviously the latter. The age thing was funny. Com’on guys, relax.

LordAkaneon 9 minutes ago: 
Day Above Ground = a fake band created by the NSA so that you don’t notice that Edward Snowden was granted Asylum in Russia

Bob Smith 3 minutes ago: How does it perpetuate ignorance? The band is intentionally being ignorant. They’re ridiculing ignorance. They’re also getting a laugh at the expense of white men who are made small and caged by their affection for Asian women. They’re making fun of white guys who only see the most basic stereotypes and who are the most basic stereotypes

18dot7 9 minutes ago: 
i dont get all the yellers … they only cater to the cliches already sunk in most westeners mind … from what i get, they are exposing the stereotype thinking of most people … and it looks to me as if they hit the nail to the head … MOST think its racist – and THAT is prolly what they intended … think thrice …

We think it’s a shame that a music video aimed at entertaining was shouted down. But, as the curse goes, we live in “interesting times.”

“It’s only Rock n’ Roll. (But I like it.)” – The Rolling Stones

“Art should comfort the disturbed and disturb the comfortable.” – Banksy

Well, they only found the comments that they like but not the ones that disagrees with them. The fact that they can point out these racist stereotypes only adds to the fact they believe it.

Leave a comment

Filed under Music

Leave a Reply

