God made us beautiful, so why do we continue to hate?

You are beautiful. It’s true.

God is love. Love comes from God.

So if God is love, then what is love?

“Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It does not dishonor others, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres. Love never fails. But where there are prophecies,they will cease; where there are tongues, they will be stilled; where there is knowledge, it will pass away.”

1 Corinthians 13:4-8 (New International Version)

That is love.

When God sees us, he doesn’t see the ugly. He sees us as beautiful.

The reason why I brought this up is because of a collective of recent events in this world.

I just see so much in the news of hate because of someone’s mistakes. Whether it’s because of a crime, or the outcry of homosexuality, or even just with a neighbor about something minor, we have been hating so much.

It’s even sadder that I see this action from Christians who are supposed to be the opposite of that. If Christians are about love, and they believe what the above verse is about, then why all the hate?

When Jesus left us with the Greatest Commandment, He reminded us to love one another. Our purpose on earth is to love. How come we aren’t doing it?

We get caught up with so much of the politics of the world that we don’t love. The use rules that we as people have created overtake the law that God has provided us. God asks us to love. Yet we don’t do it.

We’re out there pointing out the sins of everyone with so much conviction that we forget to love. I see cases where Christians are so adamant about telling every gay person that they’re sinners even though they don’t know what it “sinning” means. Sin is meaningless if they don’t know God. And God is love.

Or when a man is convicted of murder and how Christians are calling for the death penalty even though God is the ultimate judge. And wouldn’t God want that person to repent and feel compassion and love? Not really turning the other cheek when we react to violence with violence.

We’re harboring grudges, looking for ways to massage our egos because we feel we’re better than others. Have we been caught up so much about the sins we judge others on that we don’t remember what saves people from sin?

“Hate the sin, not the sinner” is a common phrase people say that actually is not in the Bible. That is another example of how us humans have convoluted the word for our convenience.

I remember when I used to feel that way about things too. But it was a long time ago when I saw the ugliness of our human interpretations that I had to go back to the root. And because I am not the kind of person that can pull Bible verses out of my pocket, I knew that I had to be strong with my core. I couldn’t know it all, so I had to know the most important part of it.

The core of the Bible is rooted in love. That’s why God sent Jesus. Because for God so loved us, He sent Jesus. Our salvation is rooted in love. The reason why I am still alive today is because God loves me.

When God sees me, He doesn’t see my sin. God doesn’t keep track of that. Instead, God sees me as His beautiful creation. God created me in His image and He is happy with who I am. Of course at times I have disappointed Him with sin, but he doesn’t hold that against me. He will always see me as beautiful. He will never abandon me. He will never change that.

In the same sense, that’s how I want to live my life. I want to live my life seeing the beauty in people like God does. Sure I can see that they’re gamblers, murderers, lusters, etc., but that’s not their identity. They’re God’s creation. I see beauty in that. I love that.

No more can we continue to condemn people with our misguided interpretations for our convenience. Yes it is important for us to help those who do struggle. But if we don’t do it with the love God showed us, then our efforts are fruitless.

Remember, love is the first priority. In fact, it’s the only thing God truly asks of us. All our other actions are a result of love. If we can’t even do the basic core of our faith with love, then all the other hate and conviction does nothing. It’s just empty words with no foundation.

Love is all I know. Love is all I need. I want to love like God loves. Let’s love first before even focusing on all the other things.

If God can love me despite all my shortcomings, can’t we do the same for His people? One day we all will be able to do that — and it will be beautiful.

And this video just because for no other reason.

2 Comments

Filed under Faith

2 responses to “God made us beautiful, so why do we continue to hate?

  1. Pingback: What If God Was One Of Us? | Love God, Love People, Change the World

Leave a Reply

