Katy Perry’s dad needs to check himself before he wrecks himself

This was shared on my Facebook feed by a friend and when I read it, I was disgusted. And it had nothing to do with the 20,000 fans.

I agree that people are worshipping the wrong things, but what kind of father publicly shames his daughter like that? I know that false idols is wrong, but he’s essentially saying that he despises who Katy is as a person and everything she’s about. What she’s doing in life is leading 20,000 fans to idolatry and she is to blame for that. The fans are at fault too, but the root of the problem is Katy herself. That’s what he’s saying.

These fans wouldn’t exist if Katy doesn’t decide to sing songs about kissing other girls. They wouldn’t exist if she didn’t self-promote herself into a movie. These fans wouldn’t exist if she didn’t appear naked on an album cover. These fans wouldn’t exist if she didn’t have a music career. Blame the fans? No, blame the source. That’s what his message is telling me.

I get what the father is trying to say, but he is totally off. I don’t know anything about Katy Perry. I can’t even name two songs from her, but what a jerk of a father she has. His heart might mean well, but his heart is totally misguided. And what’s the point of another pastor sharing this? Doesn’t he get it either?

Yes, I agree that worshipping celebrities is not right. But the way he said it, it’s really more of him being so displeased with his daughter and who she has become and him publicly saying it. What a shame all around.

1 Comment

Filed under Faith, Music

One response to “Katy Perry’s dad needs to check himself before he wrecks himself

  1. Pingback: I really enjoyed Katy Perry’s Super Bowl halftime performance | Write a blog on a log, Sam I am

Leave a Reply

