10 years ago today: I saw Eddie Guerrero win the WWE title at No Way Out

I don’t remember much about this day. I know I took BART with my friends to The City, and I think we got picked up by his dad to go to the Cow Palace.

This was my first ever wrestling event live. I followed wrestling but to actually go to the event, let alone a PPV event was pretty cool. I think the tickets were for $45 and they were on the side of the stage, which was tough to see the jumbotron but still had a great view of the ring.

John Cena was a wigger then. Kurt Angle was popular. Kane and Undertaker were about to meet a month later.

But this was Eddie’s night. I didn’t know what was going to happen and I didn’t pay attention to spoilers on the Internet as much as I did, but seeing him win the title, knowing where he came from, and the jubilation everywhere, that was special. He deserved it and I am so glad it happened.

Leave a comment

Filed under Childhood

Leave a Reply

