How to live a Christian life in my 20s

Last night during the Bridge life group meeting, we talked about Proverbs 1. The Bridge is a group for people anyone out of high school all the way through their 20s. I fit in that group. The group has been a great fit for me since I am not from the area and it’s hard for me to connect with people my age since I spend most of my week working.

But back to our discussion last night. There was a part of the chapter that really stood out to me while we went over it. Check out verse 4 (NIV).

1 The proverbs of Solomon son of David, king of Israel:

2 for gaining wisdom and instruction;
for understanding words of insight;
3 for receiving instruction in prudent behavior,
doing what is right and just and fair;
4 for giving prudence to those who are simple,
knowledge and discretion to the young—
5 let the wise listen and add to their learning,
and let the discerning get guidance—
6 for understanding proverbs and parables,
the sayings and riddles of the wise.
7 The fear of the Lord is the beginning of knowledge,
but fools despise wisdom and instruction.

This is the prime time for me to shine.

Young. I am young. Pastor Albert noted that the 20s are the most important stage of a person’s life. That’s when they figure out who they are and how they want to live the rest of their lives. It’s very true for me. It wasn’t until post-college did I finally look back, gather all I’ve gone through, and figured out what I want to do with my life.

It’s especially true when it comes to my faith. I didn’t really take my faith seriously until after college. And it wasn’t until after I started working after college did I start making something useful out of my faith. I wasn’t just a Christian by name, but I was actually living my life like one.

As I look at where I am right now, I do believe this is where I am making my most important decisions of my life. I am in my 20s, I am also the most involved and most active in church right now than I have ever been. My faith right now, I would say, is at its strongest right now too.

Proverbs stands out to me because it’s a straightforward, not beating around the bush message. It’s an in-your-face wake up call to get my life right for God. I’m not held back by my age restrictions. I am not held back by my inexperience. School is done with. I am all set to go.

But how can I live a Christian life? I think up to this point, I’ve still played it safe. I haven’t really ventured out enough where I am putting my full faith in Him. It’s not to say that I haven’t done good things. But I think I’m ready to stop being safe. I want to be out there. I want to be firing on all cylinders for God. This is where God wants me to shine. This is the stage in my life where I am supposed to shine.

As much as it is still a fun stage of my life, I have been given so many opportunities by God right now. There are an abundance of great things that I can do in His name at this stage of my life. I am ready and committed to using everything I have now to do it.

My search to find out what I should be doing continues. I have to keep my ears and eyes and heart open. God has something for me. I no longer have to be a follower. I’m being set up to lead.

No more waiting around. No more being safe. No more being foolish. It’s time to go!

1 Comment

Filed under Faith

One response to “How to live a Christian life in my 20s

  1. Reblogged this on Love God, Love People, Change the World and commented:
    Samuel Lam shares some thoughts from last night’s life group meeting and what he feels he should be doing for God at this stage of his life in his 20s.

Leave a Reply

