The struggles of storytelling

When I wrote the Ami Mills story, I didn’t think that I would do anything like that again. It was a one-time thing for me just to wet my appetite and get me feeling good about the fiction writing I used to do. But when I started to create the story, I got excited about what other stories I could come up with.

I hate being the sports guy. I hate the fact that people know me as the sports guy. I am more than a sports guy. I can write about other things.

So I now partake in this new story. After a happy light-hearted Ami Mills story, I am going somewhere really different. In fact, this may be one of the toughest things I have to write. Of course, it’s still in its early stages but I don’t think it’s going to get any easier.

I’m going to write about some really personal stuff in this. I am going to visit some places I don’t want to visit. It’s actually a really deep story about some things I have learned over the years interacting with people. It’s not a happy story. Well, it can be happy depending on how you look at it. But this new story is going to drain me to no other.

The biggest struggle is finding the time to write it and finding a time to dive deep into the dark end and still find a way out. Even this morning on my morning run it just kept running through my head of how this story would work. What was supposed to be a fun morning turned into a complicated morning of thoughts of writing and ideas. I still haven’t even fully put together the story yet. I am still piecing together the characters and their lives. They don’t even have names yet.

But I hope to get this done. If I can go through all this without distraction, I could be finished in a week. But depending on how deep I go into my psyche, it might be a while.

Leave a comment

Filed under Writing

Leave a Reply

