I went to the Rose Parade again to talk to those people with big Jesus signs

The signs invaded the Rose Parade before the parade went through.

As you know, every year on January 1st since I moved to LA I have always attended the Rose Parade. It’s a great parade and I love all the floats. But with the parade comes the Jesus Scare Freaks. These guys are either waving their big signs of salvation or using megaphones to promote their message of Jesus.

I mean, it’s a great thing to me. I never found the method effective but I have talked to them and found out that their conviction and determination is really admirable. It’s something I would never have the balls to do. After all, I don’t even know if I would be able to say anything to get people’s attention to listen about Jesus.

After talking to a sign holder last year, I decided this year I had to approach someone with a megaphone. I didn’t find one but I did find a guy holding a big sign with a pre-recorded message blaring out of his mini-speaker. Maybe people within a 50 feet radius could hear the message. I approached the guy and asked him why he was doing this. I had to clarify that I was a believer and I knew why he was doing what he was doing. But wanted to know why he thought this method was effective. I didn’t get his name so I will call him Josh.

“You don’t want to go to heaven empty-handed,” Josh said. Josh explained to me that he does this because he wants to win souls for the Lord. I agreed with him. He said that by doing this, it gets the word out to the people. I sensed that he believed that there is no time for shame or fear when it comes to spreading the word of the Lord.

“This is not just today, it’s every day we go out and spread the word.”

I never got a real clear answer as to why he felt that this approach was truly effective. After all, I am sure a lot of these megaphones and big signs turn people off. Even though the verses are true, it really isn’t much. Josh agreed and said that you can say “Jesus loves you” but if you don’t go more in-depth with it, the message doesn’t hold much.

“You have to tell them more,” Josh told me. “Forgiveness, sin, how Christ died for all of us. There is more and we are here to tell it. It’s very important.”

I agreed with a lot of what he said but maybe I just will never fully understand the passion that goes into a public place and just blasting out messages with big signs. But much like what I experienced last year, I have a new respect for these people. I may not see it as effective, but I know it has gotten people’s attention. And if this leads to one person knowing Christ, then I think it works.

Who knows what I may do next year at the Rose Parade? I want to learn more.

Leave a comment

Filed under Adventure, Faith

Leave a Reply

