Day 8 of the 21-day fast: We dance because we’re happy

Church was great this morning. Powerful message and great worship team.

I finally got to sleep in a little this morning and when I finally got myself mostly awake, I went out to Cornerstone Missionary Baptist Church for service. This is my second time there and the same premise was the reason this time. I have a friend from high school who preaches there every now and then I visited him there two years ago. Since I was free up this Sunday, I decided to return for a visit.

Even though it was a black church and me and a white dude were the only people there not black, I didn’t feel like I was out of place at all. People there were loving and welcoming, getting to know me and it was great.

During service there were great interactive songs of praise and it was so welcoming and free to shout out joys to the Lord. Even during the time to pass the peace, we were encouraged to dance with one another and sing how Jesus is in all of us. Dancing with strangers is awkward. But dancing like this didn’t feel like it. That’s what happens when everyone in the room has something in common: we love Jesus! That made me so joyful and happy.

The message was about liberation and freedom. The message was based off John 8:30-36. Here is the KJV version.

30 As He spoke these words, many believed in Him.

The Truth Shall Make You Free

31 Then Jesus said to those Jews who believed Him, “If you abide in My word, you are My disciples indeed. 32 And you shall know the truth, and the truth shall make you free.”

33 They answered Him, “We are Abraham’s descendants, and have never been in bondage to anyone. How can You say, ‘You will be made free’?”

34 Jesus answered them, “Most assuredly, I say to you, whoever commits sin is a slave of sin. 35 And a slave does not abide in the house forever, but a son abides forever. 36 Therefore if the Son makes you free, you shall be free indeed.

What was amazing about this message was that it was so interactive and so simple. It reminded me that the truth is one way and there is no other way around it. If the love has no truth, then it really isn’t love. Because man-created love is confusing and has no structure. But the agape love from God is unconditional and everlasting.

This was a great message because we have been in bondage of our own sins. But God is the one who sent Jesus to conquer our sins. It is through the truth of Jesus that we all can be free from sin. This was a great reminder of just how powerful our God is and how amazing the truth and love can set us free.

What really got me and I know this was God in action was that one of the verses used to make the point of the sermon was Romans 6:23. That is the exact verse that I am studying for OSL. Amazing how God knows how to tie everything together perfectly. Plus after service, I talked with my friend and told him about this and added in a quick invitation or explanation of what OSL was. It wasn’t the best but at least I put it out there and it made sense. It was great to be able to go to place that was different from where I was from and I am still a visitor in a way. It was good to not know all the behind the scenes stuff and just focus on the message.

That’s great stuff. God works amazing things.

Now I am over at my cousin’s house for family dinner and I brought my laptop in because I have to work. Oh well. Time to get some work done and some food eaten with family. That’s it for me. Tomorrow morning I drive back down to LA. That’s my journey! God is good!

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Faith

Leave a Reply

