So I just recorded my part for the new Mew music video

Mew is one of my favorite bands of all time. In fact, they could be my favorite live act ever I’ve seen right behind Prince and Fleetwood Mac. They are a band from Denmark I discovered back then when I was in college. With their new album that was just released a few weeks ago, they proposed this project for an upcoming music video. Fans can submit photos and audio of them singing to the song and they will be mixed into the music video. That’s all I know but the process for it was pretty intense. I had to sign up, follow all the instructions and submit my work.

The first part of the process was to read all the instructions and submit a photo from my laptop’s camera to imitate that of lead singer Jonas.

This is the original picture.

Mew3

This is what I ended up with.

Mew2

This is what the entire screenshot looked like.

Mew1

It took me at least 20 minutes to get the right lighting. The room I am in wasn’t well lit so I had to use my desk lamp. The light fixture on the ceiling was too harsh and the window was too harsh too. I hope they don’t make a big deal out of the shadow.

You know how hard it is to match that image? I had to stay still in front of my laptop camera and try to match it with the image. They allowed me to overlay my image with the screen shot but it was still difficult.

Then after that, the next step was to record myself singing several verses of the song. I had to take a lot of takes since I had to record it with my laptop’s microphone and Jonas’ voice is so high and unique that I needed the right practice to get it done. But I did get it done. You can check it out in the link above.

One thing is very apparent. I do not have a singing voice. But oh well, I will sacrifice that in order to be featured in an official music video of one of my favorite bands of all time. Life goal accomplished.

Mew4

Be sure to check back when the video is released and look for my quick cameo in it!

And if you want to hear the original song, check it out here.

1 Comment

Filed under Music

One response to “So I just recorded my part for the new Mew music video

  1. Pingback: Life goal accomplished: I’m in one of my favorite band’s music video | Write a blog on a log, Sam I am

Leave a Reply

