#LoveWins is a good thing and I’m happy for it

It all started really early in the morning when I saw this tweet.

I thought to myself “That’s cool!”

But then I paused for a minute. Am I OK with this? Am I?

===

If something like this makes so many people happy, then there is no way it can be bad right?

All I could think about at the time were my friends. I have many friends who were longing for this. I have a lot of gay friends whom I care about — some maybe were waiting for this day to come. I love my friends. And this news brings them joy. And their joy brings me joy.

That should be it, right?

But it isn’t. At least I don’t think it is.

I grew up in a Christian household. What I’ve been told by some is that I have to hate people who are gay. I have been told that marriage must be a man and a woman. I have been told that that isn’t love. I’ve been told a lot of things and I have been told that I must agree to those rules.

How can something that seems so positive be so negative? Did I miss something?

I am not going to pretend to know what it feels like to be gay because I don’t. I don’t know what they go through in attempts to be treated as equals. I don’t know the kind of hateful things they endure because of who they are. I don’t get it. And I am not going to pretend I do.

This is what I do know. I know gay people and they are wonderful. I know straight people and they are wonderful. I know people and they are wonderful.

I know that I am no better than anyone in this world and all people should be treated equally regardless of who they love. I know that despite our differences, everyone is still beautiful.

That sounds fair and logical, right?

As I grew older in age my ideas and thoughts started to shift. I didn’t understand when I was really young so I thought that since it was different, it must not be right. As I grew older, I learned a little more. I still didn’t fully get it but at least I saw that it wasn’t that bad. In fact, it was nice to not be hateful. Now as I have gotten older, I can’t say that I know it all. But there is not more hate. And that’s where we’re trying to get to in this day and age.

If I was supposed to take the teachings of the Bible and put that into my decision on how I should feel about it, then I think I would still be happy. Jesus taught us to love one another. Jesus loved even when it was inconvenient. Jesus loved even when people were different. Jesus loved when people didn’t want. Jesus loved without judging. Jesus loved people as they are. Jesus loved first before anything else.

And maybe that’s where it gets lost. There are so many rules and technicalities and people trying to prove things that we forget about the most important thing: LOVE.

Pretty ironic, huh?

I love people. And I am going to treat people with love. Regardless if they are the same or different from me, I am going to treat them with love. I am going to love first and foremost. Let’s make sure we can do that first. After all, isn’t that what Jesus taught us?

My friend MC Jin had this great perspective tweet. Sometimes things aren’t supposed to be in our control. Maybe the thing to do is just to let God do what God does and we trust God.

===

The more I think about it, the more I realized that it isn’t so confusing after all. If I put away my faith background for just one moment and focus on what I feel, I am happy. Because I love people.

If I look at this through the lens of my faith background, I am also happy. Because I love people.

This isn’t a situation where we have to mix in faith and same-sex marriages into a heated debate. This isn’t about me telling you that my belief must be everyone’s belief. This isn’t about forcing anything on anyone. This isn’t a judgment zone on technical things.

This is about us seeing our fellow man and saying that you are equal and you deserve to be treated as equals. This is about us seeing our friends smiles knowing that the struggles they have endure are now over. This is us simply being good to one another.

I believe that we are all equals. I believe that my friends are good people and they deserve joy. I believe that their joy brings me joy. I believe that this world is better off when we don’t hate and judge. I believe that people are good.

I believe that I must love first before anything else.

If I love first before anything else, then that must mean love wins. It’s a bigger victory than we truly realize. That’s why I am happy.

===

It’s been a long day (been up since 4:30am) and it still is hard to really gather up all my thoughts on this. I probably didn’t elaborate this as well as I want to. But here it is.

I just know that it is easier to love than to hate and it is better to love than to judge. It is satisfying to treat others well than to treat others badly. That’s all I got right now. I’m going to sleep now happy.

Leave a comment

Filed under Faith, News

Leave a Reply

