‘Straight Outta Compton’ was exceptionally wonderful

Yesterday I got to see this movie after trying to find an opportunity for a free screening. I think I want to see it again. It was that great.

I have been a fan of rap since I was in my early teens and this group was so big to my passion for the genre. I wasn’t huge on N.W.A., but I was a fan of the products of the group, especially Ice Cube and Dr. Dre. And I actually knew a lot about the history of the group’s origins and all the way to their split. What made this film great was that they packed 10 years of history into a two-hour film.

Getting an inside look into the origins of the group and their early years on tour was something that was done real well. I had never seen anything like that and how they portrayed everything there was great. I look at the actors and their portrayals of the rappers was so good. I particularly really like the portrayal of Ice Cube and Eazy-E in the movie.

In fact, the movie was really kind of a huge homage to Eazy-E and a lot of the movie always ended up surrounding his life and the eventual attempt he tried to make to reunite the group. Eazy’s portrayal was exceptional, especially toward the end of the film. It really made me want to cheer for him even though I knew that he was going to be sick and die shortly.

It’s hard to put into words how I really like this movie. But I would recommend that if you like rap or just want a piece of a history lesson, this movie is it. It takes in every aspect of the essential roots of these men from Compton into what rap has become in our society. It’s real. It’s powerful. It’s a must-watch.

Leave a comment

Filed under Movies

Leave a Reply

