Clickbaiting made me miss the Ahmed Mohamed clock hoax bomb story when I first saw it

I hate clickbait articles on Facebook. I can’t stand reading links with headlines like “These two kids sat down to eat lunch, you won’t believe what happened next!” and the people who post them. This is so bad. I just ignore these things and I continue on with my Facebook feed with actual information that isn’t garbage.

So this morning when I saw this, I skimmed it thinking that it was nothing. Little did I know it was actual news that involved many important people, including the president.

But look at it. The photos are oddly placed like many clickbait photos. Then the headline, although subtle and to the point, was likely ignored by me all together. Look at that lede: “Ahmed Mohamed, 14, said he made a homemade clock to impress his teachers,…”

That is full on clickbait writing right there.

Maybe two years ago I would have clicked and read it. Now because of clickbaiting, anything that looks remotely like a garbage post gets ignored by me. Thanks to clickbaiting, I actually ignored some news because at this point, everything looks the same. Shame on you, clickbaiting!

Leave a comment

Filed under Facebook, News

Leave a Reply

