Bullying kids on St. Patrick’s Day

St. Patrick’s Day is a great time to bully a kid. I remember showing up to school one day and on St. Patrick’s Day and not having any green on. I forgot. I didn’t get why wearing green was a big deal. After all, our principal lied to us every day about seeing a leprechaun running around our school — and she encouraged the kids to lie along with her. My first exposure to this “holiday” was built on a lie.

I remember I think I was in 4th grade or something and I didn’t have any green on. So naturally what would happen was that I would get teased for not having green and getting pinched. BECAUSE I WAS NOT LIKE EVERYONE ELSE, I WAS SINGLED OUT AND SUBJECTED TO PHYSICAL EMBARRASSMENT. And this was socially acceptable. The entire day I was embarrassed to be different. I was mocked and hurt. I cried that day.

To this very day, I still don’t know why we celebrate this “holiday.” All I know is that this day opened up the opportunity for others to bully me. You guys can drink to that.

Leave a comment

Filed under Holiday

Leave a Reply

