When it comes to Christian faith, it’s OK to say ‘I don’t know’

One of the great stereotypes of the world is that if you are associated with one thing, you are bound to know everything about it.

“Oh, you work in accounting. Can you file these W-2 forms for me?”

“When you’re in Hollywood and you’re a comedian, everybody wants you to do things besides comedy. They say, ‘OK, you’re a stand-up comedian — can you act? Can you write? Write us a script?’… It’s as though if I were a cook and I worked my ass off to become a good cook, they said, ‘All right, you’re a cook — can you farm?'” — Mitch Hedberg

“Oh, you’re a Christian. You must have all the answers to my questions about the Bible.”

No.


That has always been my biggest struggle with being a Christian. I don’t know anything. In fact, I have a lot of things I should know but don’t. That doesn’t make me a bad Christian right? Aren’t all people who proclaim to be Christian very knowledgeable about their faith?

I would hope so. But don’t hold it against me that I don’t.

As I grow in my faith, I have accepted that I don’t know everything. I am not certain of everything. I don’t have the answers to everything and that’s OK.

When I was offered the role to be the prayer leader for my church, I had every reason to say no. I didn’t think I was good enough. I didn’t think I had time. I was just not sure. Yet I believed that I needed to say yes. I trust in God that much. I knew I would grow that much if I took it. I may not know what was going to happen, but that didn’t mean that I shouldn’t go for it. After all, if I am trusting in God for it, then I know it will be fine.

That seemingly is a lost part of the Christian faith for some people. Because they don’t feel adequate enough because they don’t know, they don’t do. Sometimes when they feel that they don’t measure up, they don’t feel like they are good enough. Because the uncertainty is so daunting, the easiest thing to do is to just walk away and not try.

As I spend this weekend on this men’s retreat, I am once again faced with this situation. I don’t know how this retreat is going to go. I don’t know if I am going to enjoy it. Am I even going to make an impact or are people are going to impact me.

That’s a lot of uncertainty.

And I am OK with that. I am OK saying “I don’t know” to this weekend. I am OK to saying “I don’t know” to the future ahead of me. It’s OK to say “I don’t know” as much as I should. But if I put my faith, trust and obedience in God and say that I will go anyway because “I do know” God will be with me, then the I don’t knows are welcomed.

I welcomed the “I don’t know” decisions. I welcome the “I don’t know” future. I welcome the “I don’t know” if I have what it takes. What “I do know” is God and as long as I do this in God’s name, then those uncertainties will be certainties.

And I know I want that. God assures me.

Leave a comment

Filed under Faith

Leave a Reply

